We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Rosebay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Ferries

Sydney Ferries
Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
+61 (02) 9246 8300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 239 Attractions in Sydney
Type: Public Transportation Systems, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sydney Ferries is a public transport agency, providing ferry services on Sydney Harbour and the Parramatta River in Sydney, Australia.Having operated on Sydney Harbour and its related waterways since 1875, today Sydney Ferries carry over 14 million customers each year to destinations in and around Sydney.
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Trip to Rosebay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a cheap way of seeing Sydney Harbour and for me the easiest method of transportation to Rose Bay to catch a seaplane to Palm Beach for lunch. Beats a taxi!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,159
    945
    83
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Another visual perspective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Due to time constraints I only managed a quick return trip to Taronga Zoo and I'm always glad I did.
The short trip was enjoyable and an excellent way to see the skyline of Sydney from the harbour especially on a beautiful late winter's afternoon.
You'll get a different visual perspective of the Opera House, the bridge, Luna Park and houses clinging on to the water's edge. If you have time, I suggest exploring the neighbourhood then take the later ferry back to Circular Quay.
I thoroughly recommend taking the ferries that ply to places including Manly, Mosman, Rosebay or even up the Parramata River.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Easily the cheapest way to see the World's most beautiful city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

There are plenty of up-market cruises around Sydney Harbour, but easily the least expensive way to see the World's most stunningly beautiful city from its centrepiece, Sydney Harbour, is to take public transport - Sydney ferries. Most leave from Circular Quay, undoubtedly so-called because it's rectangular:) 'The Quay', as locals call it, has a station on Sydney's underground rail system and most buses that travel north on George or Elizabeth Streets also terminate there.

Large ferries and higher-speed hydrofoils travel from The Quay to the beach-side suburb of Manly. Forget the Hydrofoils if you're sight-seeing. You won't see much. Take the stately old ferries, grab a seat on the outside and sit back to enjoy the views. The trip takes about 30 mins each way, though do spend some time wandering from the ferry wharf in Manly through the shopping area to the surf beach. Just a word of warning - there can be a fair bit of wind chill on the outside of the ferries if the weather is coolish, so be prepared to rug up a bit.

A word of warning though, if you get sea-sick. Check the weather, especially the surf conditions. If there is a large swell forecast - especially if it's coming from the SE - the ferries will pitch and roll quite a bit for about 5 minutes as they cross inside the Heads (the entrance to the harbour). There's little danger. The Manly ferries have stabilisers. In fact, they were built in Scotland and sailed to Australia, so they can handle the open ocean. The ferry to Manly is the only one that is affected by ocean swell.

Smaller ferries service numerous wharves up and down the harbour. Perhaps the best trip is across to Taronga Park Zoo, well worth a visit in its own right. It has to be one of the most visually stunning locations for a zoo anywhere in the world. When you get off the ferry there, it's a good idea to get a connecting bus up to the Zoo's main entrance, so you can then walk through the Zoo DOWN to the ferry. The walk in the other direction is quite a climb.

To really get some idea of the way Sydney clusters round the harbour, take a River Cat ride up the harbour all the way to Parramatta, Australia's second oldest city. River Cats are modern, quick catamarans with shallow draughts so they can get well up river. (Sydney Harbour is really a river flowing into a geological feature known as a 'drowned valley'.) Although you'll be in an enclosed craft, the large picture windows provide excellent viewing.The River Cats will take you where no other cruises go.

The fares on Sydney ferries are a small fraction of what you'd pay for more 'touristy' cruises. So take your own food and drinks, and save lots all round. You can get multi-trip tickets, which reduce overall costs even more. Tickets can be purchased at any newsagency, or at Circular Quay.

Sydney Harbour is simply stunning and the best way to get great, up close views of the Opera House, the Harbour Bridge, Pinchgut and all the many harbour-side site is from the water. Sydney Ferries are easily the least expensive way to see those views.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bobbing about in the harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My daughter and I spent the weekend in Sydney, We bought multi-tickets so that we could hop on and off trains, buses and ferries whenever we needed to.

We went on ferries on several occasions, including to Luna Park and to Darling Harbour. All of them were in time, there was always plenty of seating, they were clean, and the crew members dealing with the embarkation and disembarkation were always courteous.

Coming from England, where I am mostly used to public transport in London, I have to say that I think Sydney has got it right. And of course having ferries in the mix makes it much more interesting. Even when (as it was on this occasion) raining a lot, you can travel all over under cover.

We both enjoyed our ferry trips a lot, and will be using them again extensively next time.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent time keeping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Brilliant service, excellent timekeeping. Value for money and a very nice way to get around the city

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Ferries also viewed

 

Been to Sydney Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney Ferries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.