We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous restaurant with great ambience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pendolino

Pendolino
Shop 100-1-2, Level 2, 412-414 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
02 9231 6117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 5,099 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant with great ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had truly devine meal with every course superb. Perfect service was offered with attention to detail. Wine selection amazing. The atmosphere was good for couples and groups alike. We loved it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    118
    38
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga TN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Everything was very well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Excellent attentive and personalized service. Food was extremely good, extensive wines for any budget my wife and I went and agree this could be the best meal in Sydney after four visits. We sat outside on the patio and it was not noisy

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant carpaccio, salty ocean trout, oppressive surroundings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I found the room slightly claustrophobic, with tables close together and not enough light to see what I was eating. By and large our food was very good, but my ocean trout dish was badly oversalted, and with prices like these I expect better judgement in the kitchen.

The service was very good, pleasant and attentive, but the constant pouring of bottled water was annoying and intrusive, particularly as we had asked for tap water.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Went there for a catch up and celebratory dinner with friends. Service was okay for the prices but for the fact we were served bottled water instead of being asked (and yes did appear on bill). Food is fantastic and still the best ravioli I have had. Friends also agreed the food was very very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My friends and I made a spur of the moment decision to go to dinner at Pendolino on Saturday night and we were certainly glad we did! From the moment we arrived, the experience was nothing short of amazing. The service was outstanding and the setting relaxed but intimate. The food was beyond delicious with the oysters some of the best I've ever had, the bean salad a surprising stand out and the pastas just divine. The wine list was superb and the recommendation we received from the helpful sommelier was spot on. It was such a wonderful evening and we will definitely be enjoying all that Pendolino has to offer again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pendolino also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Pendolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.