We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. Confused waitors.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pendolino

Pendolino
Shop 100-1-2, Level 2, 412-414 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
02 9231 6117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 5,160 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $24 - $57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Confused waitors.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I went here with my brother the final day of our stay in Sydney together. We found it on tripadvisor, which probably is the easiest way considering the location (well hidden in the old arcade 412-414 Sydney, second floor).

We had a delicious pumpkin- & pistachio-lasagne, for main course. The dessert was also something very extra.

The members of the staff made the experience unforgettable, but at the same time very confusing. It started when we got one of our beer bottles 20 minutes after the other, both naturally ordered at the same time. After that they accidentally poured water on our table. Delivered some of our dishes in the wrong order. Giving out espresso with cheese platter, after carefully asking in which order and to which course we would like our coffee.

The essence of these problems probably originates in the place beeing over staffed; with different people doing all kinds of stupid things for one another there can not be order. We had, however, one member of the staff correcting the others' mistakes for them. If he only hadn't dipped the bread-napkin in my water while pouring me a glass, he would have deserved an average tip.

It may all be an act though, all thought out to deliver a genuine, confused Italian-culture. That is the only way management like that would make any sense.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    173
    92
    28
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Italien in Town!?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

As usual I checked tripadvisor for some recommendation. Why not go for the best? Pendolino is voted a Travellers Choice 2012. Congratulations.
As I am from Switzerland, we travel a lot to Italy and Italian cuisine has influenced our eating.
Our dinner at Pendolino was very good. We could see the guys working in the kitchen. They did a great job.
Two points have been surprising.
He "Buonasera" Me "Ho fatto una prenotazione per una tavola" He "sorry I don't speek any Italien" too bad...
As a recommendation I had a glass of red wine or should I better say grape juice. Very light taste and colour. Sorry, such a win should not be recommended by the menu and the waiter with informing the client about it’s characteristics. Thanks to the manager I got a replacement free of charge. Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mudgee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

normally in Sydney we eat at La Rosa at the other end of the strand but as it was closed we dined at Pendolino. The food was excellent and the service attentive but subtle. highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, not so great lighting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have lunch quite a few times and the food and service is always amazing -however, and especailly for business lunchs does the lighting have to be so damn non existant ?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ate here on Monday 8th July. I had read the reviews and was looking forward to it very much.
It is on the 2nd Floor of the historic Strand Arcade, you take the old lift near the entrance of the arcade. The dining room is beautifully decorated and very atmospheric, possibly a little dark, but inviting.
The staff are attentive but not overbearing, and pleasant to deal with. The food was excellent, the wine list good and dessert delicious!!
We had a lovely evening and would definitely go back, I would recommend booking ahead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pendolino also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Pendolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.