We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italien in Town!?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pendolino

Pendolino
Shop 100-1-2, Level 2, 412-414 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
02 9231 6117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 5,237 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $24 - $57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Italien in Town!?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

As usual I checked tripadvisor for some recommendation. Why not go for the best? Pendolino is voted a Travellers Choice 2012. Congratulations.
As I am from Switzerland, we travel a lot to Italy and Italian cuisine has influenced our eating.
Our dinner at Pendolino was very good. We could see the guys working in the kitchen. They did a great job.
Two points have been surprising.
He "Buonasera" Me "Ho fatto una prenotazione per una tavola" He "sorry I don't speek any Italien" too bad...
As a recommendation I had a glass of red wine or should I better say grape juice. Very light taste and colour. Sorry, such a win should not be recommended by the menu and the waiter with informing the client about it’s characteristics. Thanks to the manager I got a replacement free of charge. Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    102
    30
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mudgee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

normally in Sydney we eat at La Rosa at the other end of the strand but as it was closed we dined at Pendolino. The food was excellent and the service attentive but subtle. highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, not so great lighting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have lunch quite a few times and the food and service is always amazing -however, and especailly for business lunchs does the lighting have to be so damn non existant ?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ate here on Monday 8th July. I had read the reviews and was looking forward to it very much.
It is on the 2nd Floor of the historic Strand Arcade, you take the old lift near the entrance of the arcade. The dining room is beautifully decorated and very atmospheric, possibly a little dark, but inviting.
The staff are attentive but not overbearing, and pleasant to deal with. The food was excellent, the wine list good and dessert delicious!!
We had a lovely evening and would definitely go back, I would recommend booking ahead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Food not that good when all is said and done”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by the hotel concierge as the best Italian restaurant in Sydney. I have eaten a lot of great Italian food in Italy so my standards are high. The clubby atmosphere and high prices on the menu promised it would be good. A gourmand menu with wines for just under two hundred dollars signified ambition. But when I asked the waiter what the signature dish(es) of the restaurant were, he looked at me vacantly and asked me what I liked before recommending half the menu. I pushed this saying I would eat anything he recommended but I had to force recommendations from him. In the end a seafood spaghetti with barramundi and prawns was just not good - overseasoned and with the fish cooked to a ragout consistency. This was followed by a lamb dish which was heavy and quite ordinary. The dessert was the highlight, a superb meringue dish. Wines (by the glass) were again pedestrian, served in miserly measures and nearly fifty dollars for three small glasses, one with each course. Meal for one (there was no problem with being a solo diner here), was a hundred and fifty bucks for three courses and three glasses of wine. Despite the exquisite breads and olive oils (which acted as a false promise of quality to come), the kitchen did not deliver.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pendolino also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Pendolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.