We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pendolino

Pendolino
Shop 100-1-2, Level 2, 412-414 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
02 9231 6117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 5,176 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $24 - $57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
mudgee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

normally in Sydney we eat at La Rosa at the other end of the strand but as it was closed we dined at Pendolino. The food was excellent and the service attentive but subtle. highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    176
    95
    28
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, not so great lighting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have lunch quite a few times and the food and service is always amazing -however, and especailly for business lunchs does the lighting have to be so damn non existant ?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ate here on Monday 8th July. I had read the reviews and was looking forward to it very much.
It is on the 2nd Floor of the historic Strand Arcade, you take the old lift near the entrance of the arcade. The dining room is beautifully decorated and very atmospheric, possibly a little dark, but inviting.
The staff are attentive but not overbearing, and pleasant to deal with. The food was excellent, the wine list good and dessert delicious!!
We had a lovely evening and would definitely go back, I would recommend booking ahead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food not that good when all is said and done”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by the hotel concierge as the best Italian restaurant in Sydney. I have eaten a lot of great Italian food in Italy so my standards are high. The clubby atmosphere and high prices on the menu promised it would be good. A gourmand menu with wines for just under two hundred dollars signified ambition. But when I asked the waiter what the signature dish(es) of the restaurant were, he looked at me vacantly and asked me what I liked before recommending half the menu. I pushed this saying I would eat anything he recommended but I had to force recommendations from him. In the end a seafood spaghetti with barramundi and prawns was just not good - overseasoned and with the fish cooked to a ragout consistency. This was followed by a lamb dish which was heavy and quite ordinary. The dessert was the highlight, a superb meringue dish. Wines (by the glass) were again pedestrian, served in miserly measures and nearly fifty dollars for three small glasses, one with each course. Meal for one (there was no problem with being a solo diner here), was a hundred and fifty bucks for three courses and three glasses of wine. Despite the exquisite breads and olive oils (which acted as a false promise of quality to come), the kitchen did not deliver.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sublime special occasion Italian worth the extra bucks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This restaurant is all class; great service from people who know what they're talking about, simply stunning food with incredible ingredients beautifully presented in stylish surrounds. You just have to find it, not that easy. Go to the Strand Arcade, up the elevator or stairs to the second floor. It's well worth the trouble and wait for a table if you have to. You'll be greeted with three types of delicious breads with three types of amazing oils to keep you going until you receive, in perfect timing, your first (or only) amazing course. I had an incredible seafood spaghetti entree, accompanied by an amazing rocket and pear salad, perfectly dressed, what a combination. My friend had her favorite cheese ravioli dish followed by an incredible chocolate desert I sampled and wished I'd ordered. This is the third time I've been to this wonderful restaurant over the last few years and am never disappointed. Worth the wait, worth the dollars, pay it a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pendolino also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Pendolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.