We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barramundi Cafe/Bar

Barramundi Cafe/Bar
Cnr Jamison street and Lang Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,502 of 5,235 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

While the service was good and friendly, and the servings generous, the food could only be rated as good honest fare. While it would be pleasant on a nice warm day, all tables are exposed to the open air which I found to be a bit cold during our evening visit. I was also amazed when told that they had run out of desserts at 8.45 pm on a Friday.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    10
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best meal we ate in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant and thought we'd give it ago. We were initially seated at the back of the restaurant in the bar area which was dark and rowdy. We were then given a table in the main restaurant which was fine. Service was fantastic and the food was very good. I chose mixed seafood platter as did my husband. It was tasty. My son chose lamb and was also pleased with his choice. So much so that he wanted to eat there again. We returned on Monday night to find the restaurant closed.
Would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Casual afterwork dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've now been twice to the restaurant both times using a voucher. Its always busy, probably because of the other diners using vouchers, and for the value we paid the food was good. The sea food platter for 2 was huge and could have fed the 3 of us without having to order additional food - really we had far too many chips ! The squid is tender, the fish, having removed the batter tasty with some of the sparse tartar sauce, but a squeeze of lemon cuts through everything nicely. As a venue close to work, of reasonable value and open air its not a bad place to go. The only problem was inexperienced waitstaff whose command and pronunciation of English wasn't great. She also practiced my pet hate of filling our large wine glasses almost to the brim - but you can't be too fussy when using a voucher.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience and good value with a voucher!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our voucher got us 3 seafood platters and 3 bottles of wine @ $129 (as opposed to $415) which fed all 8 of us so definitely good value for money!

Lobster and scallop mornay was nice (if u like a thick mornay sauce) and the soft shell crab was nicely crunchy.

Pleasant evening out though given its largely an open area, would hate to visit on a cold and/or rainy night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Another clogged artery with every bite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had my first Groupon experience which was the FRIED Seafood Platter with a bottle of wine that was probaly not good enough to make the shelves of any self respecting wine merchant.
Service was amiable although the young lady had trouble comprehending english. Asked if fish could be grilled and she went away to check , came back and said yes thats ok. Fish came out fried with the rest of the stodge which is not freshly prepared. Chips were luke warm, salad is drowned in dressing, chef wouldn`t know a Lobster Mornay if it bit him.At no stage were we asked if all was ok , our departure was met with silence.
If you have a Groupon voucher and can get your money back, do it !!!!
Even Gordon Ramsey couldn`t rescue this place !!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barramundi Cafe/Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Barramundi Cafe/Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barramundi Cafe/Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.