We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barramundi Cafe/Bar

Barramundi Cafe/Bar
Cnr Jamison street and Lang Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,963 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hi, like many others purchased a Groupon voucher for Seafood platter and bottle of wine, emailed them (as requested on voucher!) and requested a 12.30 lunch on Friday 19 Oct 2012, by return email was offered a 2.00pm time which I accepted, arrived and was offered a seat near bar, young lady attended our table, wine and water asked for and delivered minutes later. Our bottle of sauv blanc whilst not the best I have had, was very drinkable. I had asked the lady if our meal could be just grilled, rather than some food cooked mornay, as per the voucher, however this was not available, had to be as per voucher.Meal arrived, mornay sauce was scraped off the half lobster and scallops, and what remained eg: fish, calamari, soft crab, prawns and some salad was enjoyed by the two of us.
Look: this is a very busy cafe/ resturant in the centre of the cbd of Sydney--a city I love to visit, I will certainly eat there again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    11
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband & I used the 2nd of two Scoopon vouchers for lunch hoping that the 2nd seafood platter would be better than the 1st, but it was worse. Service was good, we were seated straight away & asked if we would like White or Red wine. The wine was fine. Then the seafood platter arrived. Calamari was fine, skewered prawns OK, but the half???? lobster was disgusting, the mornay sauce? was just a tasteless mush & I don't think the size of the lobster could possibly be legal size, very little lobster in shell. The 2 pieces of fish were soggy, gave the impression of being washed., 2 scallops with mushy sauce,crab tasteless, heaps of cold chips & a small salad. All the food gave the impression of being pre-made then put under a grill but definitely not heated through. Definitely would not return, even if another voucher was on offer!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So disappointEd!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The food was disgusting , certainly not freshly cooked as it was cold and the crab smelt off! the head waitress was very rude and unhelpful! our seafood platter was a great disappointment, this restaurant should not sell vouchers as they don,t want to serve people with the vouchers. seating was inside even though we requested outside. not a good experience when you love seafood.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatemansBay
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hard to rate Barra in Sydney”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Living Social seafood platter voucher for two was presented. No problem, sit way out the back. Sorry the vacant tables in the sunshine at 1 o'clock in the afternoon are reserved. They must've been reserved for hours. No-one took up the sunny spots while we ate inside. Food and wine arrived. A tower of food, all okay but not fresh. Hard to get fresh barra' in Sydney. The crab was fine, the 1/2 lobster ok, prawn skewers ok, calamari delicious, heaps of chips. Nothing to rave about. Wine was fine. We even received water. One of the waitresses smiled each time she came past or topped up our glasses. The real cost was s'posed to be $138. No way was this worth anywhere near this, especially throwing in the disdainful service from the beginning to end, apart from the smiling wine topper.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“problem with vouchers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

What a load of rubbish this cafe provided as a seafood platter. You would pay $20 at your local fish and chip place and get better value.All deep fried.All frozen.All garbage.How could they charge $110 for this? Restaurants that offer vouchers should understand that the customer must feel that they receive value.The disgusting attitude of serving inferior quality just creates anger and these kind of reviews.Who would go there? Even the coffee was poor.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barramundi Cafe/Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Barramundi Cafe/Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barramundi Cafe/Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.