We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Tours Australia Private Tours

Boutique Tours Australia Private Tours
7 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
+61(0)2 9436 1333
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #46 of 311 Activities in Sydney
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: If you're looking for something personalised, flexible and unique, then welcome to Boutique Tours Australia! Our multi award-winning, small-group tours are designed to get you away from the tourist traps, and immerse you in authentic experiences - showing you the very best of Australia, on Sydney's doorstep. From our wine tours visiting the boutique wineries of the Hunter Valley, to our exceptional wildlife tours which take you into the bush to see Australia's "Big 5" in the wild. In the Blue Mountains we stay away from the crowds to show you the beauty and solitude of this World Heritage-listed wilderness area. Luxury vehicles and enthusiastic, informative guides create a tailored, real experience. Boutique Wine Tours - our focus on the smaller, boutique wineries of the Hunter Valley ensures a personalised, relaxed feel as we meet the winemakers and winery owners themselves. We vary our itinerary daily, depending on the preferences of our small group of travellers, while flexible lunch options allow you to join us for a fabulous two course gourmet meal, a quick, tasty cafe lunch, or to do your own thing. Winner, Best Tour Hunter Valley four times! Boutique Wildlife Tours - travel to the stunning bushland of the Southern Highlands, just 90 minutes from Sydney, to see Australia's iconic wildlife in the wild - kangaroos, koalas, platypus, emus, wombats and a whole lot more. This afternoon / evening tour includes lunch or afternoon tea (seasonal variations), plus dinner in one of Australia's oldest pubs, before night-spotting in the Australian Bush. Boutique Mountain Tours - get away from the crowds and see the world famous Blue Mountains as they should be seen - from remote lookouts and peaceful bush walks. A focus on Aboriginal culture provides insight into this fascinating ancient culture, with lunch in the quaint mountains town of Leura, and return by stunning Harbour cruise. Small groups only, limited seats so please book early to avoid disappointment! Winner of numerous Tourism Awards, including Best Tour Operator in NSW. Please - come join us!
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had a great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I loved this wine tour. The buses are small and take only 14 people max. Our guide, Nick, was very friendly and knowledgeable. He made us all feel very comfortable and you knew he was doing his very best to give us a good time. We went to three very different and lovely wineries with an option for a fourth plus the Hunter Valley Cheese Co. We also went to a place that sold olives, oils and other local specialties. There were two options for lunch depending on our price range. We ate for $15 and it was excellent - very fresh and well prepared. The experts at the wineries were great and the wine was wonderful! I'd like to do it again.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    27
    8
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Musselburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best tours we have ever been on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

From the moment we joined the tour we were made to feel welcome in a totally relaxed way. Our driver Rohan was outstanding he knew everbody''s name and was brilliant at telling us all about the Hunter Valley and the wineries we were visiting. It was great to visit small wineries where you get to meet the owner or winemaker and hear them talk about what they were trying to achieve. A long but immensely enjoyable day that we didn't want to end!

One final mention to Rohan our driver, host, wine buff, storyteller and more - he really made the tour special and has helped create some wonderful memories for us. A big thanks to all at Boutique Wine Tours don't think about it just do it.......

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Overall disappointed as the standard we expected based on the website & past reviews was not reflected in our experience.

Our day started with a 30 minute delay. Our guide was probably too accommodating with some of our fellow passengers who hadn't bothered to show up on time. We were left waiting on the bus with no apology for the delay - in fact four seats were reserved together for them.

We were led to belief we would receive a DVD introduction to wine making- this did not happen.

Our first winery was excellent and extremely professional. The other two wineries were of a poorer quality & the second winery visit seemed rushed with a focus on us being sold their produce.

Our stop for lunch was pleasant. We didn't opt for the set lunch and enjoyed tasty reasonable priced food.

The cheese tasting was disappointing and consisted of being given four variations of feta with no explanations. This was done by a young girl who did not really know a huge amount about cheese. The fudge/ chocolate tasting consisted of an over priced chocolate shop on one of our stops.

Our final stop was in a busy petrol station for a toilet stop- bad choice of stop as the toilets were filthy.

Our guide was pleasant & a great talker however there was a lack of real knowledge about the Hunter Valley area & wine producing in particular.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful tour of small, local vineyards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The wine tour was excellent: knowledgeable and entertaining driver, just the right amount of time, and a variety of venues and wines. Winery hosts were, in general, friendly and informative. Not sure we'd recommend the overnight stay as the hotel was not up to par, but the day trips were definitely value for the money.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Great tour all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

It was a great tour. Picked up on time, and had a great guide who was very friendly. Even got a free tour of Sydney as we were picking up others as he was knowledgable about all of the sites. It was great to have a small group, and lunch options were great. Most of us chose to do the cafe lunch. It's well worth the money, and they order before you arrive so you can literally sit down and eat. This gives you lots of time to stop in at one of the other wineries or the cheese shop. It was also great to go to botique wineries. Each one was unique and had something different to offer. The only downside is you can't find the wines at home! Had a great time. Would recommend and go again myself!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boutique Tours Australia Private Tours also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Boutique Tours Australia Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Tours Australia Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.