We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make a booking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Papillon

Bistro Papillon
98 Clarence Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Wynyard)
+61 2 9262 2402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 5,319 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Wynyard
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Make a booking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our 2nd visit here in the last 12 months, and nothing has changed - the food is still superb and the service is spot on - you won't be disappointed. A small bistro with a great atmosphere and definitely a touch of France. We were a party of four and our entrees and main meals were all well prepared, fresh and full of flavour. Prices are very reasonable and there is a great wine list to match. A warm and friendly place to enjoy beautiful French cuisine without a hefty price tag. Don't try a 'walk in', you'll probably be unlucky, make a booking so you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    36
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pfinztal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best french place in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Bistro Papillon was recommanded by friends. We went there and we loved it. It´s a small place with an intimate atmosphere, super service and excellent wines and food. What a find between all the terrible fast food places in CBD. We had a lovely evening, didn´t spend too much money, went out with a smile on our faces. If you want to taste real french cuisine for an affordable price,
go there and enjoy the unique atmosphere of this place. We´ll come back certainly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiama
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This little restaurant was a delight. The attentive but unobtrusive waiters made choosing the wine and meal a joy. If you are a tourist needing a little touch of home or a Francophile who loves anything French, you really should try this place. Would love to be there on Bastille night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Expensive, noisy, small table, disappointing menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Overall the dining experience was disappointing. The fish of the day was a smallish serving of a chowder type dish at $34 each.
A small serving of French bread at $6.00 each which should have been included with the soup like main.
Least expensive white wine on the list $43 was OK and French but there was no Australian option.
Small French beer $8.00
Service was slow and the waiter took so,long for our desert order that we gave up. Mind you our first selection was not available on the night.
Would not recommend

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great French find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

After searching on trip advisor for French restaurants foynd this lovely little bistro which was one of few restaurants open on a Monday.

The restaurant is very warm and welcoming and service was friendly and efficient. My husband and I shared pate which was excellent and one of few restaurants where extra bread was provided without being asked for. For mains I had the pork medallions and my husband had steak with bernaise sauce. His steak was cooked exactly as he'd requested. My pork was very tender. We shared creme brulee for dessert whivh was also lovely.

Would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for great French food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Papillon also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bistro Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.