We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else if you can” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Lodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Lodge Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Macleay Street | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 182 hotels in Sydney
craigavon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else if you can”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as nowhere else available. Cost 100 dollars per night and was very basic hotel room. Wasn't like the pictures posted on line. We got a bigger room as was over booked and mistake made. No receptionist and had to phone to get into hotel. Rooms had microwave which didn't work and kettle for making coffee etc. Would recommend you stay somewhere else if you can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    6
    29
See reviews for
5
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Very bad customer service, very rude, untrained staff, yack smell no cleanness at all.
Never thought place in Sydney could be that bad, or worse when I made booking they speak so nicely once booking is done no care, I think staff does not know at all how to provide service and look after guests

please never ever book this place if you don't trust you will suffer. Also never ever choose airport pickup service with them. They donot take any responsibility at last they just know who to argument !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Traveled with adult family. We booked for our last night so we could get back to the airport. The photos online are highly staged or extremely old, as the room that we stayed in was a much dirtier version.

You have to ring the bell to get inside the building (or call a number if no one answers apparently). The young lady that checked us in was nice, but I got the feeling that maybe English was her second language? We saw her when we checked in, and later walking down the hall, but that was it.

You can pay $30 a day to park behind the hotel, as there isn't free parking.

I've stayed at some pretty dive places, but I think this one wins. Carpets are pretty gross, and I kept my shoes on. The couch/pull out bed was tired/stained and didn't look like the sheets had been changed (there was a plastic wrapper and other stuff folded inside). Old school TV with broken rabbit ears. Bathroom also made me break out the lysol spray. There was a queen/twin bunk bed and seemed a little rusty, and looking up at the mattress made me want to turn off the room light. Even found a nice toenail on the top sheet..... There was also another twin on a rusty metal bed.

Also seems like a fire hazard. We were down stairs. The one window was barred, although one might be able to kick it out if there was a fire, as the window frame seemed to be falling apart.

The next morning we were up early and finished packing as we heard a loud BOOM down the hall. Figured the place was on fire when we opened the door and saw smoke. Turned out that the main electrical wires coming into the building had blown up, and blasted the door off and threw it across the lobby. Also took out most of the power in the building.

I don't think there was any staff on hand, as on one showed up to see what the smoke and noise was from. A couple guys sat outside in PJ's and waited for someone to show up. We just grabbed our stuff and left the keys in the room......

Room Tip: Stay on the bottom floor, so you can get out if there is a fire......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family arrived in Sydney at 9am with heavy suitcases. We rang the hotel to see if they could store our cases until the room was available. The manager instead instead offered us the room immediately, as it had not been rented the night before, at no additional charge.
The manager also helped us find secure parking at a reduced rate after we checked out. We felt she was more helpful and provided better service than we have received at 5star hotels.
The facilities are basic but clean, as you would expect from a budget hotel.
The location was great, an easy walk from cafe/restaurants. We walked into Circular Quay and found the distance easy (but keep to the main streets as some areas in Kings Cross are dodgy).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

i have stayed in a number of budget hotels, hostels and self catered apartments in the potts point/Sydney area area and holiday lodge hotel has been the absolute worst. i was disgusted with the service, the staff were so rude, condescending and at times combative. the rooms were horrible, with stained carpets, broken beds, dingy lighting, and just simply awful!!! we spilt a tiny bit of water on the carpet (which are so stained already), and they took $30 out of our bond, even in most upmarket hotels they wouldn't do that. to sum it up this is the worst place i have ever stayed, i was horrified with the people who worked there... there behavior toward each other and us as customers was atrocious... DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have never been in such a disgusting place in my life and im a mental health Nurse.Dirty,smelly and terrible customer service. I arrive with my Husband and Sister for a two night stay having paid by credit card for the first night.On arrival we were led upstairs to the top floor on opening the door the member of staff said 'Oh No i have made a mistake with the rooms wait here' We then heard Him go down and knock on the door of a room below telling the guest he needed to move room 10 minutes later we were let into the room whilst the member of staff helped the guest upstairs with his suitcase.It was obvious the guest had had a shower and slept in the bed but the member of staff denied this and said I will provide clean towels to put your mind at rest then you can come down stairs and settle your bill? . We left and walked up the road checking into a lovely hotel for only $20 a night more. THIS PLACE SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN ITS A HEALTH HAZARD

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Like other people who have posted a review I agree, this place is horrible. We too knew we were paying for budget accomodation and by no means did we expect 'hotel' quality but we DID expect some form of quality. It was DISGUSTING - firstly there were meant to be four people to a room and they only gave us two towels, the bathroom was full of mould - hence we didnt have a shower as it was cleaner not to, the TV was the size of my hand and some of the skirting boards looked like they were made out of or had been put back together with paper mashay. This place honestly seemed like the type of place you would rent by the hour. We decided to pull an all nighter in the cross as we could not bring ourselves to sleep there. WILL NEVER RETURN TO THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: Dont stay in any of these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge Hotel

Address: 55 Macleay Street | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Budget Places and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Holiday Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.