We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMMO!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Jannah

El Jannah
4 - 6 South Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #638 of 5,305 Restaurants in Sydney
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“YUMMO!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We love this place. Whenever we visit Sydney we always make our way to this eatery. Nothing much to rave about decor wise but the chicken and especially the garlic sauce just fabulous. Very busy but you can usually grab a table quite quickly but you will have to queue for takeaway.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Love the garlic sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

There is a huge difference in price for takeaway and eat in, You can save $9 by getting the whole chicken for takeaway, and you must have the garlic sauce to go with it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What's so good about this place?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Charcoal chicken was dry and tasteless. Felt like we were in a takeaway joint rather than a "restaurant". I don't know why people keep raving on about the garlic sauce when you can buy the same garlic sauce from Harris Farm.

Overpriced for the tiny pieces of chicken that you get (probably because the ones we got were overcooked). Have had much better Lebanese food from Jasmin1 in Leichhardt and in El Aseel in Greenacre.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best chicken in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The expantion of the restuarant has made a big difference to the availability of seating, which is a good thing. There is consistency with teh excellent quality of food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Incredible chicken and garlic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Been coming here for years. By far the best Lebanese chicken and garlic restaurant in Sydney. Incredible tasting chicken and great value for money. It's not the type of place you'd come to for a romantic meal, the seating is 'no frills'. However if you want a good meal on the cheap, you can't go pass this place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jannah also viewed

 
Rozelle, Sydney
 

Been to El Jannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Jannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.