We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation should have included double-glazing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree on George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree on George to your Saves list
BreakFree on George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   653 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #88 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Hobart
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Renovation should have included double-glazing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed here one Saturday night in November. We were in 613, facing George St (more later). We were impressed with the room, which was nicely decorated and appointed, with a good kitchenette and bathroom. The bedding was of high quality and very nice.
We also liked the position of the hotel - very close to Central Station and hence easy access to the airport. Free shuttle buses in George St, too - excellent! We thought we had done very well, as the room was not that expensive (about $US170) for Sydney.
There was some work going on with one of the three elevators, but this didn't impact much.
After returning from dinner, we were mildly harassed by a drunk/druggy in the lobby, who later could be heard on our floor screaming random obscenities for a while. He must have moved on or been ejected as that didn't continue for long, however.
The major disappointment was that the room did not have double glazing and the cacophony of noise from busy George St persisted basically all night and we basically got no sleep at all.
On checkout when asked how we enjoyed our stay by the robotic east european desk clerk, we mentioned the double glazing issue but met with no response whatsoever.
I suppose that's all they could do, but I hope they take these criticisms on board and fix the problem, as it is otherwise quite a convenient, comfortable place to stay, and if we were guaranteed a room NOT facing George St, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    233
    165
    46
    50
See reviews for
176
165
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for one night before heading on an overseas holiday.
I was expecting it to be OK but it exceeded my expectations. The room was quite large, really clean, had a cute little kitchen and a nice modern bathroom. It felt really fresh and comfortable. The staff were professional and friendly and although it was obvious they were insanely busy they stayed calm and set the tone of the place.
I like the central location - its easy to get public transport, food and its a good base for sightseeing. It probably was loud at night but I always stay around this area when visiting Sydney and it was no different to the noise you would have in any other building around here (it is a city after all!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

A few other reviewers have lauded the hotels location however for me this was the major drawback. Both nights I stayed there I got no more than 3 hours sleep due to the fact that the always busy George street is 3 metres from your window if you're unlucky enough to get a room on the front of the hotel, surely it wouldn't be too much to ask for them to put in double glazing on this side.

Nothing particularly bad or good about the rooms although they have refurbed the hotel with possibly the least comfortable seats if had the misfortunte to perch on the edge of.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Stayed in a 1-bed apartment in Sept 09. It was lovely, there was a double bed in living area with a seperate ensuite bedroom at the back. Kitchen was tiny, basically a worktop about 2 ft long with a sink & 2 cooking rings, fridge underneath and a microwave/combi oven overhead. Ideal if you're staying for a week or so and want to save money by cooking instead of eating out. We availed of the "Clean break" deal, i.e. our apartment wasn't cleaned for the duration of our stay but we just had to ring reception to get fresh towels and the 0bins taken out. Location is great, upper end of George street (main street in Sydney city), 10 mins walk from Central station (where you get the train to the airport), 15 mins walk to Darling harbour, Circular Quay and 20-25 mins walk to the Rocks & Sydney harbour bridge. Also located across from 2 Irish pubs, Scruffy Murphy's & Maguires.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

3 days in Sydney on a business trip.. didnt really wanted a kitchenette attached hotel room but hotel rooms otherwise were expensive too so went ahead with this.. was pretty satisfied in the end.. as Breakfree's location is pretty convenient.. right in the heart of Sydney with all the major attractions located within 20 mnts walking distance or 5-10 minutes by the sydney metro.. Central stations is a 7-8 mnts walk from the hotel.. while Sydney harbor bridge n Opera can be a tad bit longer.. around 25 mnts walk.. enough on the location part.. about the rooms - not square shaped.. these are large rectangular rooms.. with a small kitchenette too attached.. bed is comfy enough.. has a sofa n a centre table.. study table.. do take the rooms on top few floors as u will get a better view of the city.. no complimentary internet and bfast as is the norm in australia.. bathrooms were fine.. all in all had a pleasant stay here without any hassles.. for 130 AUD it was a fair bet..

  • Liked — amazing location, good value for money
  • Disliked — everything was fine... the regular bit.. wasnt too fancy but was fine..
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxxy04
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

The hotel it self was not to bad.
When we 1st checked in the card keys to our room would not work so we have to go back down and tell the lady, she let us in than and said to pick up the keys later when we came downstairs but the guy at reception knew nothing about it so we had to wait.
We went for the pink concert and in the room we had pink cupcakes and champayne so was happy with that.Good location.
The only thing i did not like about this place was there was no parking onsite, we had to drive to a public carpark and walk 15mins back and the directions to the carpark were bad, we got lost and parked in the wrong place, it cost us $58 to get it out after 1 night lol.
The air vents in the room we had, 608 needed to be cleaned they were chocked up with black dust. and the door in the bathroom had snot all over it, gross.Alright for 1 night.1 min walk from the Sydney entertainment Centre.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

As with most things Australian, our room was quite big and clean. We were part of a group of over 130 people and we stayed there for three nights, complete with breakfast the first of which must have been a learning experience for them. The following days however they fared better although the food choices did not vary.
The lobby was a bit small and finding a restroom quite a challenge.
By and large, we were quite happy with our stay. Everything was within walking distance be it for shopping, dining and even sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: 653 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sydneys entertainment precinct, BreakFree on George Sydney offers accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers. Just 35 minutes from Sydney airport and close to Capital Square Lightrail Station, Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour. BreakFree on George Sydney gives you access to all Sydney has on offer. The accommodation at BreakFree on George Sydney consists of studios, one and two bedroom apartments, all with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer guest services at BreakFree on George Sydney including 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. From your doorstep take a short stroll and sample the best that Sydney City has to offer with multi-cultural dining, vibrant night life and a host of bars, clubs and entertainment catering for all ages and budgets. If shopping is on your wish list, the designer boutiques of Pitt Street and the bustling market style of Sydneys famous Paddys Markets are both within close proximity of BreakFree on George Sydney. BreakFree on George Sydney caters to a diverse range of travellers and is well suited those looking for affordable inner-city accommodation. Please provide your own baby blankets for the Baby Cot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.