We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree on George

Save Saved
You added BreakFree on George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BreakFree on George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   653 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Berwick, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Still here. It's 7am and the family has barely had any sleep. The sound of George St below us has kept us all awake. Unfortunately there are no double glazed windows so the sound comes bellowing in.

The rooms are clean but the daily room service was almost non existent. We were meant to have one queen an two singles but we got two queens for four adults. They made us up a couch which was quite uncomfortable.

The location is excellent. Free shuttle outside the door. China town around the corner. All transport very close. It's really a fantastic place to catch everything. Just bring ears plugs.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    176
    130
    40
    46
See reviews for
125
122
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, mainly because of the location. There was very little space for the kitchen, the kettle right next to the sink, which seemed dangerous, only 2 chairs although it was a 2 bedroom suite. Well actually one bedroom, the other bed was 'openplan', on the other side of the living area. It´s a great location, very comfortable beds, and the noise wasn`t too bad, we didn`t overlook George Street and had a view. We were on the 5th floor, it must have been really noisy below. Very near to Chinatown and Darling Harbour. The staff were very helpful and I suppose the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Don`t overlook George Street, and the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

the day we arrived,only 1 of 3 lifts were working. I found staff really didn't care - basically ' it is what it is'. we were put in a room that is for wheel chairs, so our shower was made for wheelchair access. We complained to reception who then moved us to another room on a different floor (took 25 minutes to go up 2 floors - waiting for the 1 and only lift that was trying to see to 17 floors of visitors)! the stairs were for fire only, so once on the stairwell, you hadto leave the building as there is no access to the various floors. If it wasn't for the location I wouldn't stay here again. the staff also need to learn a bit about various activites, we were told 3 different stories about the running time of the 'hop on hop off bus'. - once we were on the bus, found out all 3 running times we were told were not correct. very poor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed on the 9th floor facing George St and it was very noisy, the room was advertised as a one bedroom apartment, however, it was only a room with a small kitchenette. The bed was great, but the room was dirty, staff were efficient.

I wouldn't stay here again, however, it is close to everything, especially China Town, so it may be just the thing for some people.

Room Tip: A room facing away from George St
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had to go to Sydney for a weeks business trip recently and was put up at this establishment. I read the reviews before hand and was quite nervous about what to expect given that many reviews weren't very good. But I was pleasantly surprised. My room was clean and tidy, the bed was exception, and it was on the quiet side of the building (Pitt St).

It wasn't a cheap room because it was booked on short notice and that may have helped with the room allocation.

The only down side was that on the first night I could smell cigarette smoke obviously from someone smoking in their room but that was it.

It's also in a great location near to Central station and a walk to the major shopping areas and Chinatown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of everything. Near the local university, near great places to eat, next to China town - just perfect for walking around.
The rooms are really small. No real view. No gym. No pool.
Staff are outstanding. If it wasnt for the location would not stay there again. I would pay the extra and stay somewhere with a better view.
Lots of traffic noise, but it is in the middle of the city.
So mixed reviews.

Room Tip: We had a bad one, I guess ensure it is spacious. Ours felt cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Cozy bed. Nice staff. Close to cbd. Rooms need a re paint getting a tad tired. Stayed 3 nights. Maybe pots and pans need to be in the room though. Not have to ask for them, but overall hotel did the job for our weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BreakFree on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: 653 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 , Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sydneys entertainment precinct, BreakFree on George offers accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers. Just 35 minutes from Sydney airport and close to Capital Square Lightrail Station, Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Entertainment Centre, Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour. BreakFree on George gives you access to all Sydney has on offer. The accommodation consists of studios, one and two bedroom apartments, all with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities.We offer guest services including 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service.From your doorstep take a short stroll and sample the best that Sydney City has to offer with multi-cultural dining, vibrant night life and a host of bars, clubs and entertainment catering for all ages and budgets. If shopping is on your wish list, the designer boutiques of Pitt Street and the bustling market style of Sydneys famous Paddys Markets are both within close proximity.BreakFree on George caters to a diverse range of travellers and is well suited those looking for affordable inner-city accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.