We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt boxed in, but great location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree on George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree on George to your Saves list
BreakFree on George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   653 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #95 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
sunshine coast
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Felt boxed in, but great location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of everything. Near the local university, near great places to eat, next to China town - just perfect for walking around.
The rooms are really small. No real view. No gym. No pool.
Staff are outstanding. If it wasnt for the location would not stay there again. I would pay the extra and stay somewhere with a better view.
Lots of traffic noise, but it is in the middle of the city.
So mixed reviews.

Room Tip: We had a bad one, I guess ensure it is spacious. Ours felt cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    208
    150
    42
    47
See reviews for
150
143
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Cozy bed. Nice staff. Close to cbd. Rooms need a re paint getting a tad tired. Stayed 3 nights. Maybe pots and pans need to be in the room though. Not have to ask for them, but overall hotel did the job for our weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My second stay at this accomodation. Same as last time, but this time I noticed the street noise a lot more. Some idiot musician playing rubbish over amplified music, but a phone call to reception informed me they had a permit and it would end soon, which it did. There is also a lot of traffic noise that I didnt really notice before, but I was on second floor this time, a bit lower down. Staff friendly and helpful but they do take a long time to process at reception. Cost was maybe more than fair given slightly worn fittings and paint.

Room Tip: Go high. Sound travels from one side of building to the other easily so sides dont matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed 5 nights. Very happy with accommodation, although a bit dated, room was clean and comfortable, quiet (at rear of hotel on 9th floor) clean, and a VERY comfortable bed. Staff were good to deal with and very helpful with any info we needed. Hotel is on edge of CBD, very close of buses into Circular Quay and only 2 blocks, and easy walking from Central Rail Stn, Paddy's Market and Darling Harbour. Would stay again if in Sydney again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

So as far as basic hotels go it was ok. The lobby area and room corridors really need a good clean and a lick of paint as it instantly puts you on an fear of what the room was going to be like. The room was quite underwhelming and relieved to only spend two nights here. It was cleanish and functional and in a good location for exploring Sydney. However, I wouldn't stay again as for the money I think we could find something better.

Nice to have a balcony though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Not the nicest hotel we've stayed at but it was suitable for our needs. Having never been to Sydney we didnt know where exactly we were located. We searched for hotels in the cbd. Darling Harbour was in easy walking distance. The hop on hop off bus for bondi stops just a short walk from the hotel and the city one is about a 10minute walk to the train station.
Elevators did take a while to get to the room/reception. Every guest we encountered in there all had a laugh about the elevators.
Room was tidy enough, it seemed housekeeping didnt have a set routine as to when rooms were tidied. One day we came back at 3 and our room had not been seen to. The next day we heard them around 10am next to us.
It was a little noisy facing George Street but we did stay on the weekend so kind of expected a bit of noise in the city. Would go back happily if there wasnt much options for accomodation but more than likely would try elsewhere.
Staff were friendly enough and helped us out getting to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 weeks in various places in Australia and this hotel was our last before going home & by far was the worst. It was chosen for us by the tour company who assisted us putting our trip together & everything -flights, transfers & hotels were great, except this one. We arrived at 6pm to be told that our room wasn't ready yet due to an electrical problem! We were told it was only going to be 10 mins - 50 minutes later & offer of free breakfast for the next day, we finally got our room - we were exhausted by this time & very few places to sit & as it appears to be a through road to the opposite street - we were having difficulty avoiding getting bumped by the people walking through.
Our room was ok, very tired as already noted by several reviewers, bathroom (especially the door) needs renewed. The sofa looked a bit grubby so decided not to sit on it. The balcony was tiny but as the Chinese new year parade went by the hotel it was ideal to watch from - most of the other residents had to hang out of their windows.

I wouldn't bother with the breakfast, free, half price or otherwise - the worst buffet breakfast I have ever seen. A couple of choices of fruit juice - only a couple of inches at the bottom of the containers, white bread for toasting, coffee sachets or tea bags to add to the lukewarm water & 2 containers - 1 with grey coloured scrambled egg & the other with fat with bacon on. We had a bit of toast and left. It was served in the chinese restaurant & the waiter couldn't have cared less as all he did was text on his phone & grunt when we asked for some water to drink - he brought one small glass which wasn't even cold - disgusting.

The hotel is very close to the main station & buses. It is about 30 minutes walk from central quay but there is also regular free shuttle buses which take you there. Wouldn't choose to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on George St appear to be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: 653 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sydneys entertainment precinct, BreakFree on George offers accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers. Just 35 minutes from Sydney airport and close to Capital Square Lightrail Station, Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Entertainment Centre, Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour. BreakFree on George gives you access to all Sydney has on offer. The accommodation consists of studios, one and two bedroom apartments, all with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities.We offer guest services including 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service.From your doorstep take a short stroll and sample the best that Sydney City has to offer with multi-cultural dining, vibrant night life and a host of bars, clubs and entertainment catering for all ages and budgets. If shopping is on your wish list, the designer boutiques of Pitt Street and the bustling market style of Sydneys famous Paddys Markets are both within close proximity.BreakFree on George caters to a diverse range of travellers and is well suited those looking for affordable inner-city accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.