We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree on George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree on George to your Saves list
BreakFree on George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   653 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #86 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Average hotel in a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 night, overall an average hotel, couple of the male reception staff need customer service training and manners. Rooms are spacious but look very tired.. Location and female receptionists are the only positives about this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    233
    165
    46
    50
See reviews for
176
167
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Breakfree on George was the perfect location for us. Close to China Town and Darling Harbour. We were able to walk to Circular Quey and many other attractions in the area. The staff on reception were so helpful, they even kept our bags on check out day for us at no charge. The only two negative things I would say is that it was hard to sleep some nights as it became quite noisy on some of the balconies of other rooms and the traffic was also a major factor in that, the other would be the bathroooms probably needed to be updated, they showed their aged. Other than that my girlfriends and I had a wonderful holiday in Sydney and would probably stay at this hote again if the occassion arose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Do not put yourself through anguish and annoyance at terrible customer care and hospitality.

Unfortunately, my experience of BreakFree on George is disappointing. My brother and I stayed here for one night due to separate work commitments in the morning. We booked a twin share room, with 2 single beds. When we arrived we found ourselves placed in a room with 1 queen bed and one sofa bed. That meant one of us had to sleep on the sofa bed even though we had paid the exuberant price ($305/night) for 2 beds.

I approached a young male reception staff about the issue. He initially offered a fold-up bed with a poor quality mattress which was worse than the sofa bed. All the other rooms were booked so we couldn't be moved. When I asked this staff member, what else could be done to help us, he was insistent there was nothing to be done. His tone of voice and language was dismissive, his expressions were impassive and he was not willing to consider ways to assist our situation. All he could do was take the matter to the manager- he wrote it down on a scrap piece of paper.

He also muttered under his breath that what I was saying didn't make sense!

Worst of all, when I told this staff member that I will be writing my complaint on the feedback card and reviewing this hotel online, he made a dismissive hand gesture and asked me to "Go Ahead". I was so upset by this dismissive nature and refusal to assist in our care.

The behaviour shown by this staff member was unacceptable. This staff member is not fit to work at the front desk in any hospitality or even retail establishment. He was a poor representative of Mantra Group, BreakFree and himself. My impression of this hotel has been tarnished and I have lost faith in the Mantra Group. Their recruitment process requires refining capture those who do not possess the skills and qualities for customer care and hospitality.

This situation was only made slightly better by another reception staff on duty who later showed that he was genuinely listening to the problem and actively trying to find solutions. He showed empathy and apologised for the configuration changes. The on-duty manager the next day also apologised for the above-mentioned staff's behaviour and appeared to manage it in a professional-manner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. This hotel is in Haymarket but this is actually locally known as Chinatown. Pretty obvious why when you walk the streets, chinese restaurants all over, serving traditional chinese food. The room I had also had a nice mini kitchen and you can get pans from the reception. Very clean room, bathroom just a bit showing age but spotless. Reception staff were awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulua, Colombia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The best thing of this place is the location, the front desk provide a wonderful map that we used to go everywhere. However I think the place was understaffed since we had to wait a long time when we had some requests or questions. The kitchenette is not very well equipped and extremely small -should put cereal bowls- Overall, good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanQuinlan, General Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your impression from your recent stay at BreakFree on George.

I was naturally delighted to read your comments on the great location and the assistance the staff were able to provide (though we obviously need an extra set of hands at the time you passed through).

Your feedback is a vital tool in identifying our performance levels and the areas that need improvement, especially from a guest's point of view, and I appreciate you taking the time to make these assessments and comments.

Thank you again for the feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree on George soon.

Yours sincerely,

Nathan Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

i picked the location on a 1/2 price internet deal , Hotel is close to everything ( 10 -15 ) by walking ,train , or bus we walked to circular quay and back no worries , we arrived by train at central station and then walked to eddy ave to catch the tram as it looked a few blocks away 1st stop of we get and hotel across the road , reception was great ,easy check in , entered the room which was better then i imagined , lucky that i had read peoples review as we had the george st window very low down and noisey but had the ear plugs ready and slept very well with the plugs if the price is right i would go back , we checked out at 12 midday but where abel to store the bags till 5 pm that was great thanks to the hotel for that , there is a airport bus from the hotel which was very good 25 min to the door of QANTAS "oh yeah out the front door turn right ,7 steps , into the pub ,how good is that " ,stagger stagger fall home

Room Tip: ear plugs if you get to face George st but not needed the higher you go , Hard rock 15 min walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanQuinlan, General Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your impression of your room, the Hotel and local area.

Your feedback is important in identifying our strengths, weaknesses and areas that need some improvement, and I appreciate the time taken to make these assessments and comments.

Thank you again, I look forward to welcoming you back to the BreakFree on George Hotel soon.

Warm regards

Nathan Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had a studio apartment, very clean, everything you could wish for. Small kitchenette, bathroom and balcony looking onto street. As a woman of a certain age travelling alone for the first time, I was a little apprehensive, but Staff went out of their way to help me,and nothing was too much trouble for them. Free shuttle bus to Circular Quay ran from outside hotel every few minutes, would highly recommend hotel to other single travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanQuinlan, General Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing your impressions of the Hotel from your recent stay with us.

I really do appreciate your feedback on the service staff, room quality and the little extras that we were able to assist you with. I will be sharing your comments with the whole team.

Thank you again for the feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree on George soon.

Yours sincerely,

Nathan Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: 653 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sydneys entertainment precinct, BreakFree on George Sydney offers accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers. Just 35 minutes from Sydney airport and close to Capital Square Lightrail Station, Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour. BreakFree on George Sydney gives you access to all Sydney has on offer. The accommodation at BreakFree on George Sydney consists of studios, one and two bedroom apartments, all with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer guest services at BreakFree on George Sydney including 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. From your doorstep take a short stroll and sample the best that Sydney City has to offer with multi-cultural dining, vibrant night life and a host of bars, clubs and entertainment catering for all ages and budgets. If shopping is on your wish list, the designer boutiques of Pitt Street and the bustling market style of Sydneys famous Paddys Markets are both within close proximity of BreakFree on George Sydney. BreakFree on George Sydney caters to a diverse range of travellers and is well suited those looking for affordable inner-city accommodation. Please provide your own baby blankets for the Baby Cot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.