We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely busy city centre living” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree on George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree on George to your Saves list
BreakFree on George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   653 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #86 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Horsham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Extremely busy city centre living”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

we stayed for a week in this bustling complex of apartments. The lifts were a bit slow and were often busy but our room was more than adaquate for our purpose. We found the fridge and kettle etc most useful and could have cooked had we wanted to. We also had a small balcony which allowed us to step outside and watch the world go by. Very handy for all attractions. The 555 free shuttle bus stopped almost outside and the monorail station was just around the corner. Chinatown really came to life on Friday evenings when the market was in full swing. The reception staff were always most helpful even though they were under pressure and very busy at all times. A great location for all amenities and very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanQuinlan, General Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your impression from your week stay at BreakFree on George.

I was naturally delighted to read your comments, especially on the helpful & friendly staff. I will be sharing your comments with the team, they too will be delighted to have the recognition.

Thank you again for the feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree on George soon.

Yours sincerely,

Nathan Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    233
    165
    46
    50
See reviews for
176
166
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights. We had a fabulous time. The hotel is in a great location, so easy to get to places. Dixon Street just a street away, if you like chinese food its definitely the place to go and cheap! Entertainment centre and paddy's markets all a short stroll away. Buses to take you anywhere just on George St. We had the queen studio with a small balcony, plenty of room, full size bathroom, kitchenette (not that I cooked). Everything was supplied eg: coffee, tea and bathroom essentials. The staff were very friendly, they were always so busy. The buffet breakfast was basic and delicious. I hope we can come back soon I would love to stay there again. It was great.

Room Tip: The queen Studio with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanQuinlan, General Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your impression from your stay at BreakFree on George Hotel.

I really do appreciate the comments on your wonderful stay, the room quality and location. Glad to see you take the opportunity of the location and discover some of Sydney’s treasures. Thank you so much for your feedback, it is very important to us as a measure of how well we are performing.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Your sincerely

Nathan Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Avoid this place like the plague, I was attacked by bed bugs and when I complained all I got was a half hearted sorry and nothing else.
I have over 50 bites on me which are still red and itchy days later.
Disgusting hygiene.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanQuinlan, General Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
I am naturally disappointed to read your comments and to hear that you still had complications days after leaving our hotel. It was definitely our intension to follow up with you after we have checked the room, but unfortunately, due to the quick check out your required, it wasn’t until later that we realised we had no contact details listed for you. Please do accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience and disappointment you were caused.

These bugs are a dread of all Hoteliers and no matter how fussy we are with our cleaning processes, they do not discriminate. We do have procedures in place to regularly check, but unfortunately they are brought in on guest luggage when a guest has stayed at another accommodation with them.

Pest control have since gone through the room, with two further follow up sprays also occurring to ensure total eradication. We have also replaced the beds, all linen and bedding. Regular checks are scheduled on the room to check that we have definitely eradicated them.

I thank you for bringing this issue to my attention, and can only apologise that it occurred and that we were unable to identify the issue prior to your stay.

While unable to prevent the disappointment of your stay, I do hope we are given the opportunity to host you again when next in Sydney. If so I would be delighted to personally make these arrangements for you.

Kind regards,

Nathan Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The apartment was clean, comfortable and perfectly located for exploring the main sights of Sydney. The reception staff were friendly and approachable at all times. The room was large and there was sufficient space for cooking. Sadly our stay was tainted by the huge cost of staying here. We were lucky to get a reasonable deal through 'booking.com' for the 3 nights but when we enquired about a 4th night the cost was unbelievable. We're not sure if this is the result of the poor exchange of sterling against the australian dollar or just the sad reality of Sydney being too expensive. A room at the Holiday Inn by the Harbour Bridge was cheaper but would still have been approximately £200. We could not afford to stay another night in Sydney.

Room Tip: Shop around for cheaper deals if there are any in Sydney
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanQuinlan, General Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your impression from your stay at BreakFree on George Hotel.

I really appreciate the comments on the room quality & cleanliness, location, and especially the comments on the staff. Thank you so much for your feedback, it is very important to us as a measure of how well we are performing.

I am sorry to hear that you found, with the dollar/sterling conversion, that the Australian pricing was on the higher side. We are mindful of this and do have some great advanced purchase deals in the UK market.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards

Nathan Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Great location, room was just what was needed, eat out most nights anyway as location is 5 mins walk from darling harbour, kitchen is a little small two hot rings and a toster and kettle, basic but just what is needed. Good size room

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanQuinlan, General Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to pass on your impressions from your recent stay at BreakFree on George.

We appreciate all feedback and are very glad you found the room and location suitable for your stay in Sydney.

Thank you again, I look forward to welcoming you back to the BreakFree on George Hotel soon.

Kind regards

Nathan Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Enjoyed the great location but was disappointed at their over the top Internet charges. When you're paying over $400 per night, you don't want to pay an extra $25 per day for Internet. Just feels like a rip-off when it's 30 times what you pay at home. And why do so many hotels charge $16 for a movie when they are sold at such a terrible, low resolution quality (often with the sides cut off)?!

No pool, so that's not so great if you're with kids. All in all, the rooms were ok, just another standard hotel with nothing much special about it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanQuinlan, General Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for passing on your impressions from your stay at BreakFree on George.

I really do appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and pass on some valuable feedback. We will be installing a new Internet System into the Hotel in March, which will also include WiFi and hope this will provide a better service and value for money. We are also looking at some options for the Movie system as well, as mentioned quality could be better.

Thank you for your comments. While unable to prevent the disappointment of your stay, I do hope we are given the opportunity to host you again when next in Sydney.

Kind regards,

Nathan Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, Australia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Spent the Melbourne Cup long weekend here with friends in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. The apartment was roomy, clean and we had a huge balcony. The staff were helpful and allowed us an early check-in. Over the road from Paddys Market, 2 blocks away from excellent shopping and only a 5 minute stroll to Darling Harbour with its excellent restaurants, bars & of course the ferries. Great position for a weekend away to discover the sights of Sydney

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanQuinlan, General Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your impression from your stay at BreakFree on George Hotel.

I really do appreciate the comments on your wonderful stay, the room quality and location. Glad to see you take the opportunity of the location and discover some of Sydney’s treasures. Thank you so much for your feedback, it is very important to us as a measure of how well we are performing.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Your sincerely

Nathan Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: 653 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sydneys entertainment precinct, BreakFree on George Sydney offers accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers. Just 35 minutes from Sydney airport and close to Capital Square Lightrail Station, Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour. BreakFree on George Sydney gives you access to all Sydney has on offer. The accommodation at BreakFree on George Sydney consists of studios, one and two bedroom apartments, all with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer guest services at BreakFree on George Sydney including 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. From your doorstep take a short stroll and sample the best that Sydney City has to offer with multi-cultural dining, vibrant night life and a host of bars, clubs and entertainment catering for all ages and budgets. If shopping is on your wish list, the designer boutiques of Pitt Street and the bustling market style of Sydneys famous Paddys Markets are both within close proximity of BreakFree on George Sydney. BreakFree on George Sydney caters to a diverse range of travellers and is well suited those looking for affordable inner-city accommodation. Please provide your own baby blankets for the Baby Cot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.