We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our day could not have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Activity Tours Australia

Activity Tours Australia
George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
61-2-4227-9902
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$92*
and up
Ranked #30 of 270 Tours & Activities in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Silver Award in 2011 NSW State Tourism Awards!Award Winner Hunter Valley tourism awards 2010 and 2011!Finalist Blue Mountains Tourism awards 2010 and 2011!Family owned small group Sydney day tours to the Hunter Valley wine region and the spectacular Blue Mountains National Park. See Koalas, Kangaroos and the amazing Three Sisters. Savour many different wine varieties. Great value and friendly small group tours and now also fantastic half day Sydney Sights tours.Groups and tailored charters are our specialty. Visit the website for your complete needs.
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our day could not have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our group of six (ages put us in the lower end of "senior" category) booked Activity Tours Australia on line while we were on a cruise to Sydney. Tish is the great operations manager with whom we dealt on-line. We were picked up at our hotel by Tish herself for a great day of sightseeing. We were blessed with perfect weather for the day. She drove us first to Featherdale Wildlife Park, getting us there just ahead of the big buses full of kiddies and other tourists. We delighted in petting koalas, feeding roos and wallabies, and even draping a python around our shoulders. Tish allowed us flexibility in time, but still gently steered us on so that we could get the most done and seen in our day. On to the Blue Mountains! Next stop was Flat Rock for breathtaking views of Jamison Valley and the mountains. Wow! Wow! Wow!! We were the only ones there at that time. It felt like our own special spot. Taking Tish's advice we stopped in the delightful village of Leura for lunch. And ate in her favorite cafe. Savory pies for all and delicious desserts. Decided on 1/2 hour for browsing before heading to the mountains. All the while she drove, Tish gave us great information on Australia in general and what we were to see in particular. Tish dropped us at Echo Point for terrific views of The Three Sisters and the valley while she bought our tickets for the Scenic Rail rides. She rode with us and was able to steer us just right because the schedule was changing without notice for the train---construction of new platforms made it necessary. We were able to see and ride all without a hitch for us. Don't know about some other unsuspecting, uninformed tourists. The ride back to the Olympic Park venue was quick and smooth. Tish dropped us off at the ferry landing to board a Captain Cook boat for the ride back into downtown and Darling Harbor. We were sitting outdoors at a waterside restaurant for sunset. What a great day!!! Tish was the perfect guide/driver for us. We are so glad we found her and Activity Tours Australia. Thanks so much!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    62
    9
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“fabulous day in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

What can I say, this tour was great. It started with a trip to the featherdale animal resort where we got to pet kangaroos and koala bears and then we learned how to throw a boomarang. Then we headed to the blue mountains, saw a couple parts of it, hiked, and then rode the cable car if you wanted too. To finish it off we went to olympic park where the sydney olympic games were held and took a ferry home. Amazing trip and our guide Steve was INCREDIBLE! I could not have asked for a better guide, he was very informative, friendly, and most implortantly made the day fun! We will definelty use them again in the future!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hunter Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This trip was great in any way: absolutely great guide, great selection of estates and lovely wines! Well done, another wonderful trip with you guys!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Blue Mountains Day Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very fun and all encompassing. Mark was knowledgeable of the area and the traffic. He got us to the very popular Featherdale Wildlife park early before the masses. Then to the mountains where he specialized our tour to miss the crowds. As someone who hikes often in the area, he was familiar to locales not full of other tour busses but still with spectacular views. As Supergran44 stated, the day was full and the best way to get to know Sydney in a day. One of the best decisions while in Australia was going on this trip. Fun for all ages and interests. Wear comfortable shoes and expect different weather in the Blue Mountains than in Sydney. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had day trip to hunter valley for my bucks day. Our driver Nigel was very friendly , polite and flexible enough to accommodate some our last minute requests. Our trip was much better than what we expected. Thank you activity tours, Nigel and Tish.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Activity Tours Australia also viewed

 
New South Wales, Australia
 

Been to Activity Tours Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Activity Tours Australia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.