We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly resort. Close to Beach. Clean and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers on the Beach to your Saves list
Smugglers on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Sandy Beach Rd | Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Family friendly resort. Close to Beach. Clean and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with 2 young kids. The kids loved the swimming pool and the tennis court.

The resort has free laundry facility which is great for family.

The apartment has 2 bedrooms and bathroom, and own parking space.

5 mins drive and you will arrive to Big Banana and Park Beach Shopping Centre.

You can hear the waves at the resort so that's how close you are to Korora Beach.

Staff are very friendly. Rooms are clean. I recommend this place to families.

The only improvements I suggest are better wifi. Though it's free, Apartment 1 could not get any signals.

And the pillows need to be better quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    68
    20
    9
    0
See reviews for
101
71
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent 6 nights here and could easily have spent more. It was quiet and relaxing and we had a really great time. Helps if you have your own vehicle as it is on the northern outskirts of town. All utensils that you could think of were supplied for the kitchen. There was no issue with having clean towels supplied part way through our stay. There's buckets and spades for the kids to build sandcastles, cricket sets to play beach cricket and tennis rackets and balls to play tennis on the half tennis court. Everything was clean and tidy including the outdoor areas. There was a beautiful, sparkling clean pool to swim in and a walk or two along the beach (best at low tide) is definitely called for. We had bush turkeys come and say hello and even saw some wallabies in the bush between the units and the beach!

Room Tip: There are good sized units for disabled people. These units also have a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Wow, what a find! The beach is so close you can hear the waves while you lay in bed. Natural scenery complete with wildlife outside your door. The hosts are very friendly and a joy to do business with. If you don't relax here there is no hope for you. We had the room designed for disabled patrons. The accommodation is spacious, the bathroom has hand rails, a huge spa bath, a fantastic large shower, and the kitchen is modern with all the mod cons. The hosts supply you with laundry powder free of charge, and the guest laundry is also free to use. Two large washers and two driers are available at no extra cost to you. The pool area is lovely, The beach is very close, probably not 'real' swimming beach, but we fished and enjoyed the experience. If I had a complaint it was that the beds (a double and a single in each room) were hard and being a bit of a sook, I found sleeping a bit uncomfortable. All said and done, we look forward to coming back again. A great stay, in a quiet location, A perfect place for a real rest..

All parking is undercover.

Room Tip: If you don't like steps, ask for a ground floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My family and I have enjoyed every minute of our stay at Smugglers on the Beach.Very clean, great views and located close to the beach and the centre of Coffs Harbour. Will certainly stay there again. I would recommend this hotel for anyone planning their next holidays in Coffs Harbour.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Pros: Plenty of room in unit. Clean tidy. Staff pleasant.Right on the beach.
Cons: No internet (think this was short term but unsure, was bit vague) as other reviewers have said beach is very pebbly not great for evening stroll. Little bit out of town although local free Ex Serv bus came out to pick us up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachco, Manager at Smugglers on the Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. You are correct that we had some trouble with the internet. Without going into to much detail it was an issue with the Telstra lines created when a line was severed during the installation of the NBN in the area. This caused us to have about a 2 week period with a lot of drop outs and a number of days with no internet at all. This was a very frustrating issue and it took Telstra longer than i would have liked to get it rectified. I apologize that there was no internet during your stay. We have now got this issue resolved and the internet is back up and running.

We are about a 10 min drive to the center of town, but this means that we are in a nice and quiet area were all you hear is the sound of the ocean, no traffic noise or drunken night club patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not sure who enjoyed it more. Us, or our five kids… We loved our stay! Can’t wait to book again for next year. Friendly staff, superb location, clean and tidy, easy to relax. Five nights of fun family time with no stress.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent 5 nights at Smugglers in September with our three kids. Apartments were lovely inside with a modern kitchen (including dishwasher) and furnishings. Nice to have a big corner lounge and t.v. that we could actually all fit onto. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free use of washing machine and dryers was great. Also thought it was great that they had a small supply of books, magazines, bats, balls, boogie boards and pool noodles for guests to use. It is in a cul-de-sac so nice & quiet. The pool isn't very big however we knew that before we booked it. It wasn't a problem thou, our kids went in every afternoon and there was never more than three other kids in with them any way. The beach would have been perfect except for the lack of sand! We stayed there one day but it is full of pebbles (big ones, little ones) and not very pleasant to walk on. Our next beach day we went into town to the main beach. We would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers on the Beach

Address: 36 Sandy Beach Rd | Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Smugglers on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers On The Beach is absolute beachfront accommodation located just five minutes north of Coffs Harbour's City Centre. Coffs Harbour accommodation at its finest, Smugglers On The Beach offers 16 fully self-contained resort style apartments. Nestled among tropical gardens, all apartments have their own private patio or balcony overlooking the pool, floodlit gardens or magical Pacific Ocean. The large apartments are designed and custom furnished to provide plenty of space for a relaxed and comfortable holiday, with attention to the minor details that help to make your holiday in Coffs Harbour a special one. With 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments we can cater for everyone from the solo traveler, couples, large families right through to large group bookings for weddings, sporting events, family reunions or almost any other occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Smugglers on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.