We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and relaxing stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers on the Beach to your Saves list
Smugglers on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Sandy Beach Rd | Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and relaxing stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have enjoyed every minute of our stay at Smugglers on the Beach.Very clean, great views and located close to the beach and the centre of Coffs Harbour. Will certainly stay there again. I would recommend this hotel for anyone planning their next holidays in Coffs Harbour.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    51
    17
    9
    0
See reviews for
80
59
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Pros: Plenty of room in unit. Clean tidy. Staff pleasant.Right on the beach.
Cons: No internet (think this was short term but unsure, was bit vague) as other reviewers have said beach is very pebbly not great for evening stroll. Little bit out of town although local free Ex Serv bus came out to pick us up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachco, Manager at Smugglers on the Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. You are correct that we had some trouble with the internet. Without going into to much detail it was an issue with the Telstra lines created when a line was severed during the installation of the NBN in the area. This caused us to have about a 2 week period with a lot of drop outs and a number of days with no internet at all. This was a very frustrating issue and it took Telstra longer than i would have liked to get it rectified. I apologize that there was no internet during your stay. We have now got this issue resolved and the internet is back up and running.

We are about a 10 min drive to the center of town, but this means that we are in a nice and quiet area were all you hear is the sound of the ocean, no traffic noise or drunken night club patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not sure who enjoyed it more. Us, or our five kids… We loved our stay! Can’t wait to book again for next year. Friendly staff, superb location, clean and tidy, easy to relax. Five nights of fun family time with no stress.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent 5 nights at Smugglers in September with our three kids. Apartments were lovely inside with a modern kitchen (including dishwasher) and furnishings. Nice to have a big corner lounge and t.v. that we could actually all fit onto. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free use of washing machine and dryers was great. Also thought it was great that they had a small supply of books, magazines, bats, balls, boogie boards and pool noodles for guests to use. It is in a cul-de-sac so nice & quiet. The pool isn't very big however we knew that before we booked it. It wasn't a problem thou, our kids went in every afternoon and there was never more than three other kids in with them any way. The beach would have been perfect except for the lack of sand! We stayed there one day but it is full of pebbles (big ones, little ones) and not very pleasant to walk on. Our next beach day we went into town to the main beach. We would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Qld
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently had a one night stopover, what a lovely place, we were made very welcome,the room we stayed in was a pleasant surprise, very nicely decorated and comfortable, we have already booked for a return visit, I would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent four nights in October 2013 in unit 6 on the first floor overlooking the pool. The unit was spotless, tastefully decorated, well equipped and comfortable. The grounds and pool area are well kept with a large grassed area leading to a short walk to the beach. The staff without exception were most friendly and helpful. We found nothing to criticize and we enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked another stay next year.

Graham and Margaret

Room Tip: The upstairs are probably more private and have large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in apartment room 1. It was very comfortable and felt like home. Large and relaxing. The amenities out side by the pool are great, even better. Full kitchenette, BBQ and space to relax. Negatives: If we must note them, each bedroom in the unit could have a wall fan to help cool the room's over night, as the air conditioner does the job in the main part of the unit but not the bedrooms. You go to visit the area so who wants a restaurant all in one, Fitness centre it's on the outside on the walks around the location. Loved it. I will go back with all the relatives and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers on the Beach

Address: 36 Sandy Beach Rd | Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Smugglers on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers On The Beach is absolute beachfront accommodation located just five minutes north of Coffs Harbour's City Centre. Coffs Harbour accommodation at its finest, Smugglers On The Beach offers 16 fully self-contained resort style apartments. Nestled among tropical gardens, all apartments have their own private patio or balcony overlooking the pool, floodlit gardens or magical Pacific Ocean. The large apartments are designed and custom furnished to provide plenty of space for a relaxed and comfortable holiday, with attention to the minor details that help to make your holiday in Coffs Harbour a special one. With 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments we can cater for everyone from the solo traveler, couples, large families right through to large group bookings for weddings, sporting events, family reunions or almost any other occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smugglers on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.