We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb motel which exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matador Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Matador Motor Inn to your Saves list
Matador Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 Grafton Street (cnr Pacific Highway & Albany St), Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney
1 review
“A superb motel which exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Having read very positive reviews I decided to stay here en route from Sydney to Brisbane. I was very much impressed with everything from the service to the quality of accommodation. I arrived with two young children weary from the journey and jumped straight into the very clean and nicely warm pool. Room was spotless and was a nice meeting of retro decor, comfy beds and mod cons (strong wifi signal and good digital TV). Proprietor was charming and friendly and his recommendation of simple but tasty pizza restaurant (Lakiss Jetty Pizza) was a huge hit with me and two hungry kids. There was a toaster and kettle in the room but no microwave so may not suit those planning to cater for themselves here. I was slightly concerned, on arrival in our ground level room beside reception, that proximity to the highway would mean disturbance from traffic noise but I heard nothing and we enjoyed a very peaceful and comfortable night's sleep. I have stayed at equally clean and comfortable motels but the retro furnishing, chilled ambience and peerless service give the Matador an edge over the competition. I look forward to staying here in future and would recommend to others without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are very short walk from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for your detailed review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay as we do try hard to meet expectations. We ourselves have been travelling for many years and have stayed in various styles of accommodation. Our aim is to blend these experiences, the Matador's history with the service and comfort demands of today. It is always gratifying when this all comes together and is recognized by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
30
40
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Can't praise highly enough. when we arrived there was beautiful chill out music playing in the reception. The host was extremely pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. I would not hesitate in recommending The Matador.
Thank you Dean for all your help during our stay.

Steve & Fiona

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Steve and Fiona - I shared your feedback with Dean and we are both delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We were also very pleased you noticed some of the details we have introduced to make our property different from others. We strive hard to ensure each of our guests has a good experience and look forward to welcoming you back when next you travel our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Booked this motel online after finding it on trip adviser and was very pleased with our decision. Paid for a queen and got a free upgrade to a king room on arrival. The room was very clean and furnishings in excellent condition.

The motel is well located for travellers, being on the highway and close to centre of town however the beach is about a 10 minute drive away. The owner was also very nice and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments and feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the choice you made. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you travel to Coffs Harbour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had two great stays at the Matador this summer. Both times I've felt like a VIP. Roger and Dean both went the extra mile to make sure that I had everything I needed.

Dean ordered me a Pizza because I didn\t have a phone and then surprised me by getting a china plate and silverware out of the kitchen!

The rooms have everything you need, the bed's are super comfy and the decor at the pool is a nice surprise

You don't have to guess where I'll be staying next time I'm in Coff's Harbour!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Ms Thistle - thanks so much for providing feedback. We are humbled by your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again when next you travel through Coffs Harbour. All the best and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed overnight with a 2yo and found this a pleasant stay. We just had a standard king room which was a little on the small side and didn't have a microwave. The shower was a nice size and the room was nicely furnished. The most memorable part though, was the owner, who couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to a Woolworths and a short drive to the CBD and restaurants. Traffic was a bit noisy though. Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room a bit furthur from the reception as the customer service was a bit noisy too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Amanda - thanks for the feedback. We are all pleased you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps next time it will be less busy and therefore even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The Matador was a blessing during a very long car trip for our family. The beds were warm, soft and comfy. The rooms were small, but meticulously clean and suited our needs for the night. The decor was gorgeous - it was lovely (and refreshing) to see that some of the retro features were not-only retained, but also reinvigorated. The newly-renovated features of the bathroom was beautiful and the whole experience - from the foyer space, to the communal living room, to the bedrooms - was just what we needed. Thank you for a brief, but pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Freshly re-furbished in retro 70's style. Owner was friendly and helpful. We had 2 rooms - quiet, clean, recently re-furbished and thoughtful touches throughout the Matador. Better than most other Motor Inns we've stayed at.

Room Tip: Level 1 southeast corner room was quietest as farthest away from circulation and Highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Karl - many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and recognized some of the added detail of our property. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you travel through Coffs Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matador Motor Inn

Address: 11 Grafton Street (cnr Pacific Highway & Albany St), Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matador Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Matador Motor Inn has been operating continuously for more than 40 years and been a home away from home in Coffs Harbour for thousands of guests. In fact the Matador is one of the most popular stop-overs for travellers on the Pacific Highway travelling between Sydney and Brisbane. We have completed numerous refurbishments so now more than ever the Matador is a fabulous choice if you are looking for boutique style motel accommodation. You can enjoy a stay in clean and comfortable rooms. We offer a choice of room configurations: from premium queen and king rooms to twin and family room options. All rooms offer comfortable beds, quality interiors and amenities, LED TVs, Foxtel, ipod docking stations, Lanovera personal products, a tea and coffee larder with quality supplies, toaster, kettle, iron and ironing board and private dining space. All rooms face due north and upper level offers district views. Select family rooms offer a private balcony. We offer an outdoor pool and guest lounge to relax and enjoy as well as a quality, in-room breakfast package. Select pet-friendly rooms are also available, but regretfully we only accept small dogs 10kg and under. Not only is the Matador a regular choice for holidaymakers, it is also very popular with business travellers. We offer free WIFI, a desk area for your laptap or tablet and lounge access. Regular corporate clients are also eligible for special corporate rates so please make inquiries with our friendly team. The Matador provides off street and undercover parking but we must limit parking to one car per room.We wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Matador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Hotel Coffs Harbour
Matador Motel Coffs Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matador Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.