We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lime Mexican Tapas Restaurant and Bar

Lime Mexican Tapas Restaurant and Bar
366 Harbour Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia (Formerly Lime Mexican)
0421573570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 138 Restaurants in Coffs Harbour
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lime Mexican opened its doors in Coffs Harbour in July 2013 to share its fresh take on modern and street-style Mexican food. Our menu is a 'Tapas' style menu (Tapas are a wide variety of appetizers, or snacks) and has been created with the thought that our meals will be shared amongst friends across multiple courses.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazingly friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were in Coffs Harbour for Easter Sunday, and realised that lots of places around the area were closed for dinner. After driving around for a while, we ended up at the Harbour Drive strip of places, and a quick walk up and down revealed Lime as the obvious choice. Although it was packed full, the staff quickly found a space, served a beer quickly, and then we ordered food in a series of courses as we went.
The food was outstanding, with a very unusual style that really surprised us given the location (and the local competition), and we will definitely return here next time we're in Coffs.
The outstanding feature was the number and friendliness of the staff. Not just efficient, but also incredible smiles all evening long. Three or four of them stopped for a chat as they were moving around the restaurant, making the evening even better. At no time did it feel 'forced' - it just seemed like a very natural thing to happen.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Busy place, good service, nicer atmosphere inside, the food looks good but is really just average, reasonable Margarita, at Sydney prices

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great vibe great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic find on the Coffs jetty strip.
Great staff who were knowledgeable about their menu and great vibe. Food portions were good sizes and all food really fresh and tasty not like Mexican we have had before which is usually all about the cheese. Enjoyed it so much we went twice over our week in Coffs.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pumping little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Friendly staff gave us the choice of a tiny desk against the wall or a comunal table. We took the table, and were given ample space between us and the families on either side.
The waitress explained the menu, there is small tapas style and larger meal style selections.
We had trouble deciding, it all looked good.
We decided on jalapeno poppers, smoked trout quesideas, triple cheese quesideas and pork belly. We had a side of guacamole which was presented to us in a special way.
All very enjoyable food, spicy but we could handle it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Nice tapas style menu options, fresh, tasty, not overly Mexican in a good way, not just refried beans and guacamole. They done everything just that little bit differently. A good experience. Delicious mocktails too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lime Mexican Tapas Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Lime Mexican Tapas Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lime Mexican Tapas Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.