We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad..mostly good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort to your Saves list
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Pacific Highway and Bay Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good and Bad..mostly good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2006

The previous reviewer stole my thunder. I agree with all their points and our major dissatisfaction was with the restaurant and in particular the breakfast. Nothing is replenished without asking, 2 portions of butter in the bowl at 7.00am so they didn't even start full, horrible huge coffee/tea mugs with stain rings inside them - generally a bit grubby and not much care taken. Service very laid back and not too concerned about guests more interested in having a chat with their workmate.

Dinner was a little better and we ate there a few times because we have an Accor Advantage card and get discounts on meals but after two nights you can easily exhaust the menu choices.

The accommodation and recreational facilities are pretty good. You can do walks along the coastal tracks, see wallabies grazing early in the morning, play tennis, golf, stretch classes, gym, health club etc. My children (3) did one session in the kids club but is cost $15 per child for about 3 hours they enjoyed themselves but it is quite pricey. Grounds, gardens and pools well maintained and overall a very relaxing place to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Restaurant
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    294
    204
    96
    55
See reviews for
226
357
33
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2006

We booked 7 nights at this hotel. There were some great points and some very poor ones.
On the postive side: we had a 1 bedroom spa suite, with a laundry, kitchen with dishwasher and convection microwave, stove top. Double sofa bed in lounge room, with partitions to separate the rooms. Great innovation was the ability to spin TV around from Lounge to Bedroom via built-in cupboard.
Most staff were friendly and helpful. Not on the beachfront but very easy walk to it. NIce Kid's Club.
Questionables: Swimming pools. One 25m pool designed for the energetic - no wallowing. The alternative pool was a walk from the main complex, max 90cm deep and attached to the toddler pool. Difficult to cater for energetic children and lazy parents in same spot! Pool Bar located at this pool - howver not open during our stay. (Uncertain from appearance when it last opened)
Negatives: Restaurant was a disappointment. For evening dining high end prices but poor decor and limited menu choices. All mains same price regardless of whether chicken or rack of lamb. Drink prices were considerably higher than the setting would lead you to expect. eg. $8 beer, $40 for a store priced $10 bottle of wine. Cost wasn't an issue for us - but it was hard to justify the value.
Breakfast is served in the same restaurant. 7am - 10:30am Great choices on the menu - however the set-up of the buffet was terribly inconsistent. Some days there was teaspoons, tongs for serving, condiments, iced water etc, and other days - none. The staffing for early breakfast was woefullly inadequate. The only day it was right was Thursday when a tour group came through early. Restaurant staff not as consistently helpful as the other Resort staff either.
The Restaurant and bar are the only places to eat in the Resort. They do provide a "Grab it and Go" menu in place of standard room service. We did not use this service - but it seemed ok. They also offer the standard Novotel Kid's menu.
Would consider going back - just with slightly lower expectations for dining.

  • Liked — Room design
  • Disliked — Restaurant options
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

Booked this based on reviews here so there you go. We were only there one night which may explain the room. We were placed in the ground floor of the lowest building in the Terrace Towers. Each terrace is actually 3 floors.

The car parks for this location do not have sufficient space for the rooms. Next, there is no lift and the ramps do not extend to all levels. If you're handicapped or have luggage, beware! We checked in at dusk and they had not yet adjusted the lights to the earlier darkness so finding the room and then getting into it was a bit of an adventure.

The room was clean but musty smelling and very tired. The terrace, was covered with cigarette ash and spent butts from the rooms above, hey, not just terrace housing but council estate style. Having driven for over 8 hours, I was in no mood to go back down the hill and deal with another room. My guess is that the rooms on the lagoon side are fine so I would check well in advance and make a request for where you wish to stay.

We put our bags in the room and immediately headed into town where we had drinks and dinner at a new restaurant, Cafe Fiasco. Italian food prepared by two young Italians, one from Firenze and the other from Lake Como. A family affair, the food is good and the atmosphere enjoyable. The next morning, we checked out without investigating their restaurant and went down to the Foreshore Cafe which I highly recommend for brekkie.

  • Liked — A bit over half way between Sydney and Brisbane
  • Disliked — The list is rather long and covers most qualifications for which you book a hotel room
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't rely on their website and request not to be placed on the ground floor in the Terrace Towers.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2006

The Hotel is adequate, not a 5* but OK. Our problem was being a timeshare exchange guest. You are on your own as the hotel caters to hotel matters and timeshare people are not represented. We exhanged a beautiful timeshare at the Marriott Newport Coast and expected comparable accomodations. Wrong!! This was a 3rd world room, very drab and outdated everything. We were quite upset and suggested to the staff that there must have been a mistake but they stated that the timeshare was a separate entity and they couldn't help us. We stuck it out and the grounds etc. were beautiful but I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone that's expecting 5* accomodations. Especially disappointing is traveling half way around the world at significant expense only to find oneself is such a terribly depressing room!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast qld
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2006

We have just returned from 10 days at the Novotel Pacific Bay Resort at Coffs Harbour. The resort is sensational. We stayed in a one bedroom spa unit with balcony and views to die for. The ocean was visible from our balcony and also from our bed. Sunrises were amazing. We played golf, tennis, swam in the 25 metre lap pool, walked, dined in Charlies Restaurant, explored the surrounding countryside snd shopped till we dropped at the markets and local shopping areas. Sitting on the balcony and eating a leisurely breakfast or having a cool drink with a local seafood lunch or just having happy hour was great. Staff were excellent. Unit was equipped with all mod cons. Gym staff were cheerful and very helpful. The Beauty Spa was excellent for a massage or a pedicure. We totally enjoyed our time at Coffs Harbour and would definitely recomment the Novotel to anyone.

Jan, Sunshine Coast Qld.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2006

We enjoyed a weekend break in a spa room overlooking the golf course. The room was very large with a kitchenette, which was unexpected. We didn't test the appliances, but everything looking okay.

Everything was very clean, and the only drawback was the curtains didn't seem to be long enough for the windows and the morning light was very bright.

The bed was extremely comfortable as was the other seating in the room.

The restaurant was excellent - great service and lovely food. Good wine list too.

If you visit and want to explore the surrounding area, you'll need a car, but if you just feel like hanging around the pool and relaxing, then a taxi from the airport is under $20.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2005

We stayed here in March 2004 while travelling by car from Sydney to Brisbane. Being just over half way between the two Coffs Harbour makes a perfectly timed stop to break up the journey. The resort is a perfect place to relax. We stayed in an upper level spa suite and were not dissapointed. As stated they are very spacious with a seperate living area and fully equipped kitchen as well as a nice bathroom with large spa bath. There is little need to leave the hotel with all the facilities. We used a couple of the pools and had a treatment at the spa (floatation tank) which was a new experience.
Had a light lunch at the restaurant which was very nice and not too overpriced. There are also plenty of options nearby or you can always cook yourself in your room.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort

Address: Corner Pacific Highway and Bay Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#6 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort is located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Coffs Harbour. Perfect for a holiday or break on the beautiful New South Wales North Coast, the hotel features 130 superbly appointed rooms, plus an A La Carte Restaurant, Bar (offering an All Day Dining Menu) and conference rooms for up to 800 people. Guests can enjoy excellent leisure facilities, including a 9 hole golf course, tennis courts, three swimming pools, indoor and outdoor spas, fitness centre, hairdresser and Tranquility Day Spa. We also have an onsite activities company, Timeout Adventures, offering activities from Segway rides to laser clay shooting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Hotel Coffs Harbour
Accor Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.