We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst I've been to when on hols” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort to your Saves list
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Pacific Highway and Bay Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“One of the worst I've been to when on hols”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

Booked this based on reviews here so there you go. We were only there one night which may explain the room. We were placed in the ground floor of the lowest building in the Terrace Towers. Each terrace is actually 3 floors.

The car parks for this location do not have sufficient space for the rooms. Next, there is no lift and the ramps do not extend to all levels. If you're handicapped or have luggage, beware! We checked in at dusk and they had not yet adjusted the lights to the earlier darkness so finding the room and then getting into it was a bit of an adventure.

The room was clean but musty smelling and very tired. The terrace, was covered with cigarette ash and spent butts from the rooms above, hey, not just terrace housing but council estate style. Having driven for over 8 hours, I was in no mood to go back down the hill and deal with another room. My guess is that the rooms on the lagoon side are fine so I would check well in advance and make a request for where you wish to stay.

We put our bags in the room and immediately headed into town where we had drinks and dinner at a new restaurant, Cafe Fiasco. Italian food prepared by two young Italians, one from Firenze and the other from Lake Como. A family affair, the food is good and the atmosphere enjoyable. The next morning, we checked out without investigating their restaurant and went down to the Foreshore Cafe which I highly recommend for brekkie.

  • Liked — A bit over half way between Sydney and Brisbane
  • Disliked — The list is rather long and covers most qualifications for which you book a hotel room
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't rely on their website and request not to be placed on the ground floor in the Terrace Towers.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    282
    188
    88
    47
See reviews for
211
345
33
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2006

The Hotel is adequate, not a 5* but OK. Our problem was being a timeshare exchange guest. You are on your own as the hotel caters to hotel matters and timeshare people are not represented. We exhanged a beautiful timeshare at the Marriott Newport Coast and expected comparable accomodations. Wrong!! This was a 3rd world room, very drab and outdated everything. We were quite upset and suggested to the staff that there must have been a mistake but they stated that the timeshare was a separate entity and they couldn't help us. We stuck it out and the grounds etc. were beautiful but I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone that's expecting 5* accomodations. Especially disappointing is traveling half way around the world at significant expense only to find oneself is such a terribly depressing room!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast qld
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2006

We have just returned from 10 days at the Novotel Pacific Bay Resort at Coffs Harbour. The resort is sensational. We stayed in a one bedroom spa unit with balcony and views to die for. The ocean was visible from our balcony and also from our bed. Sunrises were amazing. We played golf, tennis, swam in the 25 metre lap pool, walked, dined in Charlies Restaurant, explored the surrounding countryside snd shopped till we dropped at the markets and local shopping areas. Sitting on the balcony and eating a leisurely breakfast or having a cool drink with a local seafood lunch or just having happy hour was great. Staff were excellent. Unit was equipped with all mod cons. Gym staff were cheerful and very helpful. The Beauty Spa was excellent for a massage or a pedicure. We totally enjoyed our time at Coffs Harbour and would definitely recomment the Novotel to anyone.

Jan, Sunshine Coast Qld.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2006

We enjoyed a weekend break in a spa room overlooking the golf course. The room was very large with a kitchenette, which was unexpected. We didn't test the appliances, but everything looking okay.

Everything was very clean, and the only drawback was the curtains didn't seem to be long enough for the windows and the morning light was very bright.

The bed was extremely comfortable as was the other seating in the room.

The restaurant was excellent - great service and lovely food. Good wine list too.

If you visit and want to explore the surrounding area, you'll need a car, but if you just feel like hanging around the pool and relaxing, then a taxi from the airport is under $20.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2005

We stayed here in March 2004 while travelling by car from Sydney to Brisbane. Being just over half way between the two Coffs Harbour makes a perfectly timed stop to break up the journey. The resort is a perfect place to relax. We stayed in an upper level spa suite and were not dissapointed. As stated they are very spacious with a seperate living area and fully equipped kitchen as well as a nice bathroom with large spa bath. There is little need to leave the hotel with all the facilities. We used a couple of the pools and had a treatment at the spa (floatation tank) which was a new experience.
Had a light lunch at the restaurant which was very nice and not too overpriced. There are also plenty of options nearby or you can always cook yourself in your room.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2005

We stayed here for 1 night in a 1 bedroom spa suite.

Our room was lovely with it's lagoon view, 2 balconies, huge king size bed & separate lounge area. You could close the bedroom off from the other room if you liked or you could leave it open. The TV swivelled around from one room to the other. The bathroom was huge - it had a corner spa that I think 3 people could have fitted into. The vanity area was outside the bathroom itself (the hotel called it the "dressing room") with 2 sinks & a built-in wardrobe.

The room also had its own laundry, complete with washer & dryer. The kitchen was modern & had everything you needed. I even cooked some fish while we were there!

The pools (there are 3!!) were all lovely. My daughter insisted on swimming although it wasn't that warm. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the restaurant but the lobby looked good & they had a list of activities for the day there. I'd love to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2004

We stayed over the Easter break in a one bedroom upper level spa. The room was fine for the five nights although I though it a little overpriced. The rooms were refurbished in 2002 and this was okay, however it still had a 20 yeor old dishwasher which blew up and took two attempts for someone to look at. The replacement dishwasher was every bit as old, rusty and mouldy inside, considering there was a $15 fee for leaving any dirty dishes you needed to have a dishwashwer" The towels were threadbare some even had holes. On the positive side there were more than enough chairs and lounges around the pools and the activities program was well thought out and run. Unfortunately the entire Easter break in the restaurant was buffet, which we went to once. I'm not a buffet fan. We went to Coffs Jetty and ate at Reva Tapas Bar, excellent food for a great price...highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort

Address: Corner Pacific Highway and Bay Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort is located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Coffs Harbour. Perfect for a holiday or break on the beautiful New South Wales North Coast, the hotel features 130 superbly appointed rooms, plus an A La Carte Restaurant, Bar (offering an All Day Dining Menu) and conference rooms for up to 800 people. Guests can enjoy excellent leisure facilities, including a 9 hole golf course, tennis courts, three swimming pools, indoor and outdoor spas, fitness centre, hairdresser and Tranquility Day Spa. We also have an onsite activities company, Timeout Adventures, offering activities from Segway rides to laser clay shooting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Hotel Coffs Harbour
Accor Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.