We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 39 hotels in Coffs Harbour
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Arrived after booking the accomodation with Wotif to be told that they had no record of my booking. After around 20 mins with phone calls to wotif etc they finally found my booking there, apparently Aanuka had not recieved it. Lucky enough the hotel had a spare room so we were eventually checked in. Complex is huge as others have mentioned, and the few occasions we could get a car park in the complex, it was a 5 min walk through to the room - our room to the reception area would have been nearly a 10 min walk.

We had booked the standard hotel room, and was fairly underwhelmed. The best thing about the entire stay was the King sized bed had excellent linen and was very comfortable. Otherwise hotel and room was fairly average.
The Room - Noisy wall mounted box style air conditioner, have never stayed in a hotel of this 'quality' with one of these 80s style noisy air conditioners. TV was mounted so low on a table that you couldn't see it from the bed. Bathroom was tired, mould in the shower grout, and water leaked ALL over the floor when you used the shower. There wasn't a plug in the room that fitted either the sink or the bath - handy !
The facilities - The hotel had a large conference on, and basically EVERY single carpark was full and you had to park on the street, clearly no where near enough carparks for the amount of accomodation. Had a spa at the main pool complex, and the amount of floating foreign matter in there was a little disturbing.

Hotel had wireless internet available but it was VERY expensive - $13 for 2 hours - some of the $60 motor inns in town had it for free !

Final complaint was the buffet breakfast - on the final day arrived at 9.50 or so when it ran to 10.30, and there were no pancakes or hash browns left and they simply couldn't be bothered to replenish them - there was still over 10 people still eating and arriving.

Sadly Coffs used to be a place with really high accomodation standards - it was back in the 80s but they have let all these places sit for all those years and not spend a cent on them to bring them up to a standard that we expect these days, very disappointing on the whole.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    160
    89
    54
    47
See reviews for
206
155
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

My husband, myself and our 2 children ages 5 and 6 stayed at Breakfree Aanuka beach for 8 days.Our room was lovely, very neat and clean. the service was simple but effective. Our kids particularly enjoyed the kids club which is very reasonable priced with lots of great activities for the little ones. We set out to have a relaxing break without hassles and that is what we got! I would recommend the resort to families sick of the Gold Coast, who want a beach and pool and not much else. I have recommended this resort to many people as it is fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Stayed at the Aanuka Beach for one night as part of a roadtrip up the east coast of Australia.

This was the worst accomodation we stayed in along the way (& we payed about the same money for every hotel we stayed in)

Check in Staff were unfriendly. We unpacked all our bags from the car at the main reception only to be told that our room was on the other side of the resort (about 2 kms away!). Staff reluctantly said they would deliver our bags to the room rather than us pack them all back up, but this took them 2 hours to do!

Resort is spread out over a huge area & is located in what I would describe as a rainforest. Lots of overgrown vegetation & scary creatures lurking about. From reception to our room was a 15 minute walk & after dark I wouldn't brave it! The footpaths were poorly maintained and badly lit.

Our room was dated, small & uncomfortable.
Very old air con machine that blew huge amounts of dust/dirt into the room each time you switched it on.
Key didn't open the door without a lot of effort (we were locked out twice & had to get reception staff to help us - they weren't too obliging!)

Location in Coffs Harbour - the resort is right on the beach with some fantastic views, but you need a car to get around the town.

Breakfast was included in our room rate & was pretty reasonable. View from restuarant out towards the beach was fantastic.

There were a few pools scattered amongst the resort but we didn't use them as the weather wasn't great during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed at Aanuka in January but had to leave almost a week early.
We gave them 4 days notice before checking out and we know that they resold our room, as we called to check availabilty after we had left.
We paid in full and knew that a refund was not compulsory, however I am a travel agent, although I paid full price, and have been in the business over 30 years and this is the first hotel that I have come across that would not offer a token refund.
I consider this to be sharp pratice and would tell you just to be very careful.
Needless to say I have found plenty of other good properties than do have some moral standards.

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Grubby
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Aanuka has the best pool area and beach of the resorts I have stayed at in Coffs but the service is very bad. If you want to stay in the resort and lay by the pool/on the beach and dont need anything from the staff this is a good place for you. It is north of the town centre and you need a car to get anywhere other than the Big Banana which is at the top of the road.

I travel for work mostly and had a number of problems:
1. I upgraded rooms when a friend came to visit for a few days and left my phone charger in the old room. The staff refused to retrieve it on the same day and it was days later that it arrived back! Reception was quite rude about not helping as well. This wouldnt have been so bad but the landline didnt work in the room either!
2. The TV remote did not work. I was woken at 8am on Xmas day by the maintenance man who spent 30 minutes pressing buttons before laughing and saying 'I guess you will have to get up and change channels on the TV!"
3. The rooms are not serviced during your stay, but the cleaners knocked on the door twice from 9am on the day we were changing rooms.
4. The restaurant is good, with a view of the beach, but overpriced (pretending to be fancy when it should just realised it is a cafe not a 5 star restaurant!
5. Very poor lighting and signage on paths if checking in after hours (not to mention the map I was given was incorrect and was being upgraded- nice if reception would tell you that before you go searching for a non-existnat room in the dark.....

On the whole it is a good resort with sprawling gardens and several different pools (including small indoor heated pool) but expensive for the level of service.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We had our family over for Summer Holidays and they loved the resort, they thought that the pools, activity areas, walk ways and accommodation all added to the authentic 'hideaway' feel.

The apartments are nice, possibly in need of a little updating, but spacious and with all the facilities you need.

The staff were fantastic and really helped make it a pleasurable stay, we came to meet with our friends and family and spent some time at the resort with them and spent many hours relaxing in the bar, it has a lovely relaxed feel with the open spaces and outside views.

This is a great place to stop of in Coffs Harbour, and was certainly a better venue for the family to stay in than our house ;)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

We stayed at the resort for a week in mid jan 2009. The kids club was a big hit with the kids really enjoying the activities, and staff seemed really interested in the kids . Was a bit concerned by some earlier reviews, but we loved our spa bure and all that the resort offered . Staff very friendly, food great, overall a really relaxing family holiday. Will be back next year, I hope!!!

  • Liked — seperate bedroom
  • Disliked — bit tired, but great for families
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.