We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a three day break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
746 Pacific Highway North, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Essex,England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good place for a three day break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

We were staying in Sydney, and decided to get away from the City for a midweek break. August isn't exactly peak season, so the placewas quiet. We expected a room but instead found self contained units, with fridge, microwave plus plates/cutlery etc.
The beach area was again quiet meaning we could walk meeting only the occasional dog walker. The staff at the Nautilus were very helpful. We didn't eat in the on site restaurant as we wanted to try the various restaurants close to the jetty

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed just the one night in a self contained unit - the resort is a little bit out of town but located off the main highway transport is very easy if you have a car. It was down season so the hotel was quiet - the room was ok. It was a little old and dated for my tastes and advertising a king bed but providing two singles pushed together with two single quilts was disappointing. Additionally the room had large windows along the roof that had no curtains so don't on sleeping in if you are affected by a large amount of light early in the morning.

Besides the average room the resort is right on the beach and that was fantastic. A quick walk straight onto the sand and a decent pool and spa located on the beach front. Nice chairs and tables right on the water were perfect for having a beer and listening to the ocean. The fact that the resort was quiet made it seem like we had our own private beach.


The restaurant is independent of the hotel but located next to the pool - we had breakfast there and it provided average priced meals but large servings of tasty food.

Overall the location was great, rooms a bit old but for we didn't regret staying there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

I booked a week in Nautilus as I travel to Coffs for work frequently and wanted to try a new place. When I presented my Hotelclub confirmation voucher at reception I was told there was no booking in my name. I have used Hotelclub frequently in the past and never had problems. The lady at reception tried to help and found a temporary room. She later told me that my booking had been changed to a much drabber neighbouring hotel. From that time Nautilus staff were very unhelpful. I had to try to sort out what happened myself and ended up being charged over $50 for telephone calls (most of which were about the stuff-up!).

The staff have obviously been given some training as to how to appear to be pleasant and friendly but you can really tell what a resort is like by how they treat you when a problem happens- and any frequent flyer knows these things do sometimes happen! Beware- and watch out for the huge phone bills!!!

  • Liked — Great location with spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Decor is dated and there was a trail of ants in the kitchen
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle. NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2007

I'm fussy when it comes to accomadation, but we loved this place.
My husband and i took my 3yr old and stayed in a a 1 bed suite.
It had 2 double beds, in the same room.
There is a kids pool which the grounds are full off frilled neck lizards which was lovley. A large outdoor pool and spa, and a indoor spa.
Great pool and bar area kid friendly, you can sit outside of the restaurant which is right at the pool, bar service to pool area.
Reception staff are great, very friendly.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island, Victoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

Now this resort is a little dated in the decor stakes, however the service and surroundings were flawless. 2 bedroom/2bathroom, fully self contained. We had the "Korora Suite" which backed onto the pool area (pool fenced of course). We had our own backyard/sunlounges. The resort was immaculate and staff were brilliant. We have 2 children, 3 & 5, who swam all day and played with their toys in full fenced backyard. You will need a car as Coffs is a 7min drive. You have your own undercover parking space next to your unit. All single storey and surrounded by palms etc. They have tame water dragons which are all over the resort. There are 3 pools, 1 baby (0.4m), 1 kids (1m) and a larger pool near restuarant/beach foreshore. Check with resort which ones will be heated though as the baby pool was a little cold. Beach is great, however not a swimming beach. Food reasonably priced and good. The only down side is there is NO kids club. It they had that it would be a 10/10.Now Coff's is a big town. Nothing quaint about it. It has shopping and more. Pet porpoise pool is a must. You can be kissed by both dolphins and seals. Great resort, I would go back again.

  • Liked — The resort setup
  • Disliked — Dated decor
  • Tips/Secrets — If travelling with children, ask for a suite which backs onto the pool area
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

I stayed at the Nautilus Resort in October for a family members wedding. The room I stayed in with family was a neat and tidy hotel type room, with twin queen beds. The room was surprisingly large and so allowed you space to move around, the bathroom was the same! There was a small patio on one side of the room which looked out onto the well kept tropical gardens and paths that meandered throughout the resort.

The only meal I had at Deckchairs was breakfast, there was an array of breads, croissants, cereal, yogurt and fruits that was included in your daily breakfast voucher. I never left hungry, it was a good breakfast!

Otherwise the wedding function I attended was held at the Resort function room, Cocos, and it was a fantastic event. The room was large, but not too big, with a fantastic view of the Resort down the hill side and the ocean. Even of a night it's view was great! The food was extremely nice and filling and the alcohol free flowing. There was only one small dilhemma, during the night a number of out-of-date beer was served. I approached the bar staff and they were genuinely sorry, it seemed a very innocent mistake!

There facilities at the Resort kept everyone entertained, they were easy to access and always clean!

If you are a keen gardener, talk to the Resort gardener and he will help you with collecting plant clippings and advice, he was great!!

  • Tips/Secrets — The three bedroom units have the beach views!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

We recently stayed at Quality Resort Nautilus, Coffs Harbour, and have done so on many occasions over the past 7 years. Mostly it is just an overnight stay to and from our trips to Queensland to visit family, though on one occasion we stayed for 3 nights. It's become something we look forward to because it's different from most Hotels/Motels in that most of the accommodation is in small duplexes spread around the resort, set amongst nice gardens, and always gives us the feel that we are staying at a little holiday house rather than somewhere impersonal. We usually stay in a queen sized room, but have stayed in one of their self contained one/two bedroom units. The latter would be particularly suitable for a family with a child/children. On our most recent visit we stayed in what they called a deluxe room and we had our own private courtyard.It had just been refurbished, and the standard was excellent.

The staff have always been exceptionallly nice and the rooms clean. More often than not we opt for a room service dinner and without fail have found it to be as good as eating in the restaurant. As the resort is located right on the beach front, lovely beach walks are available, as well as on site facilities such tennis, gym, etc.

We just like the atmosphere and feel it's much more relaxing than staying in an ordinary motel/hotel. We also feel it is good value for money.

  • Liked — Individual duplexes set in the grounds.
  • Tips/Secrets — Look out for the specials they often have.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa

Address: 746 Pacific Highway North, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coffs Harbour Accommodation – Nautilus Holiday Self Contained Apartments. Spacious, affordable accommodation set on nine tropically landscaped acres of absolute beach frontage seven kilometres north of Coffs Harbour; Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa offers something for everyone. Whether you are looking for serene holiday relaxation, a spot of adventure, a touch of indulgence, or quality quiet time, Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa is the place for your perfect break. With Coffs Harbour boasting the most temperate climate in Australia, you will be able to do just about everything you want to do anytime of year. Designed for privacy and comfort, our Coffs Harbour accommodation is a world away from a traditional hotel. Deluxe rooms are large and comfortable and the perfect Coffs Harbour accommodation for shorter stays, with Studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self contained villas designed for extended holidays and larger families. In keeping with the relaxed culture of the complex, our "do not disturb" policy provides housekeeping for your arrival with additional services available at a nominal cost. Our Coffs Harbour complex has so many activities on-site you won’t know which one to choose first including three swimming pools, two spas, two tennis courts, children’s playground, BBQ area, coffee shop, beach fishing and day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Beachfront Villas Hotel Coffs Harbour
Nautilus Beachfront Villas And Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Hotel
Nautilus Beachfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.