We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, tired accommodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Opal Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Opal Cove Resort to your Saves list
Opal Cove Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pacific Hwy, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Devon, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dated, tired accommodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The rooms and public areas of this resort are in desperate need of refurbishment. Carpets are very worn and the decoration is dated and tired. We stayed in a room that didn't face the beach, which was fine, until we realised that the noise from a large outlet near the car park (air conditioning outlet, perhaps?) was loud and was going to continue all though the night. We had a dreadful night as a result and was pleased that we hadn't booked for any longer than one night.

The staff on reception seemed tired and not particularly bothered. We weren't offered help with luggage and on departure, we weren't asked about our stay.

I wouldn't recommend this as a holiday destination to my friends or family - it was just too shabby and low-rent.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the beach, rather than a room overlooking the car park to avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    152
    109
    45
    59
See reviews for
142
113
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in a hinterland view room for one night as a stopover on our roadtrip.
The hotel was outside of town, and if we wanted to explore Coffs it would probably be too remote. However it was perfect for our purposes.
Room was clean, and large. Everything in the room worked, and bed was comfortable, and the air-con cold. The shower had hot water - and plenty of it - at a strong pressure.
We had dinner in their restaurant and were happily surprised by how wonderful the food was - highly recommend.
The breakfast buffet had a large selection.
Cocktails were average.
There was no view of the beach (although I think rooms on the other side would have had some kind of ocean view), however you could take the walk across the field to the beach quite easily. The beach had pebbly sand but was very pretty to walk along.

All in all, we had a good night sleep and a good feed.
I probably wouldn't want to stay here for more than a day or two.
I would recommend this place as a good one to stay in when stopping near Coffs Harbour.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We enjoyed three nights in an Ocean View Room.
Very happy with our accommodation, well appointed, clean room however getting a little tired and in need of an upgrade.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Good facilities in the resort and within walking distance to the beach.
Overall very good experience we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here in January on our way up to Queensland. It was great value for money for a family of four. The room was large, modern and clean. We overlooked the carpark and unfortunately what I assumed were the air conditioning motors which ran 24/7 and were very very noisy.
The staff were great, we had some trouble with the TV reception which was attended to within minutes of placing the call.
The pool is great with a slide for the kids, however the decking and slide stairs could do with replacing, as both kids had numerous splinters in their feet. A few hundred metres walk to the beautiful beach. We did not eat there so I can't comment on that but the prices were average of most resorts. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for three nights and was very happy :) sure the rooms were a bit old but our room had a lovely sea view and it was cleaned very well so we didn't have a problem with it. The bed was comfortable and our air con worked well. The pool was fantastic and the beach is so close! The guys at reception were very welcoming and lovely, as well as the cleaners. The resort has many things to do and is a short drive from town.We got our room at a great price and Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland Shire, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Website needs to be updated to show the TRUE pictures of the rooms currently. I believe the resort is currently undergoing a refurbishment. Would be better to close it down totally and do it quickly as I'm sure all who visit wouldn't return in the current state. No use updating the reception and foyer if the rooms are terrible. Air con is so loud we couldnt sleep with it on, room had an overwhelming smell of bleach. If you moved the furniture it appeared a vaccuum never makes it past the viewable areas of the room. Beds were so uncomfortable, sheets were paper thin. Pool isn't heated so the only real draw card can't be used if you have a cooler day. And my biggest gripe is the statement ABSOLUTE BEACH FRONT. Absolute rubbish.
To access the beach you have to travel down through a council plot of land. Few minutes walk down a grassy hill.Try visiting the Nautilus - as you step off the grass that surrounds the resort you are on the beach, thats absoulute beachfront. further to last reviewer we also had a copy of our licence requested. I think I will be taking that further as I also cannot understand what the point of this is, not to mention breech privacy fine to visually check my id but you had my credit card.? Perhaps the positive reviewers got a decent room...unfortunately we weren't so lucky.

Room Tip: No room is worth booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thankyou for your comments.
We do take on board all comments criticisms and ideas as they give us the opportunity to review practices where needed and improve service standards.
From time to time there will be things our guests are not happy with and if we are approached with these issues immediately we will do our best to rectify them and ensure our guests stay is made as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
We do clearly state on all advertising material that our pool is not heated and we are sorry that this this was an issue for you and a little surprised, given the time of year .
As noted by you, we are about half way through a refurbishment programme whereby bathrooms are being stripped back and completely re-tiled and fitted out and room furniture replaced, and so are addressing updating issues.
The request for a copy of photo identification has been in practice for a number of years and as stated in our Resort Privacy policy document, which is available on our website, is done for our guest protection as much as for our own. This procedure is not
intended as a violation of guest privacy as we do take guest privacy issues very seriously, and we attempt to make this quite clear.
The air-conditioning plant has just had a full service and bearings replaced which we are pleased to say has significantly reduced the noise factor you refer to.
Absolute Beachfront refers to the fact that there are no development other than the nature strip between ourselves and the beach, we apologise if this led you to believe we are directly on the beach.

Once again thankyou for raising these points with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at this property the past 2 nights while on business in Coffs Harbour. The resort had glowing photos on their website (which I think were taken many years ago) so I decided to stay there as there wasn't any of the large hotel options available in Coffs. Upon check-in, the reception Manager asked for my drivers licence to PHOTOCOPY and keep on their records. Despite this hotel being booked by Amex Corporate Travel and me offering my corporate credit card as security and a photo ID business card, the check in staff said it was their policy to get a photocopy. I swiftly denied their request to photocopy and offered for them to put a higher deposit on my credit card and informed them that in this day and age of credit card and identity fraud that they should NOT be doing this.
The room appearance was clean enough but the sheets on the bed were paper thin, the blanket (ugh was brown and I bet hadn't been washed in a while) and the towels were like tissue paper. there was a very noisy generator noise coming through the external walls and there was cockroach droppings next to the coffee mugs in the cupboard. I informed the General Manager regarding my experience but he was not helpful at all. I have documented everything more eloquently and will make it my business to find out who owns this resort. They need to know that their property has been run into the ground.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thankyou for your comments. We do take on board all comments criticisms and ideas as they give us the opportunity to review practices where needed and improve service standards.
As stated to you, at times of high occupancy we are often unable to offer complimentary or paid for upgrades to the ocean side as these are the more popular rooms and therefore the first to sell and from Christmas through to the end of January we operate at very high occupancy levels.
Unfortunately, our property layout does not permit us the luxury of separating corporate guests from families and noisy children during peak periods, but we will do our best to accommodate these requests during lower occupancy periods.
The request for a copy of photo identification has been in practice for a number of years and as stated in our Resort Privacy policy document, which is available on request, is done for our guest protection as much as for our own. This procedure is not intended as a violation of guest privacy as we do take guest privacy issues very seriously, and we attempt to make this quite clear.
The air-conditioning plant is undergoing a full service next week and as this involves closing down a part of the plant, could not be attended to until occupancy levels dropped off.
we have addressed the cleaning issues with the Housekeeping department and will look at the linen, but this is the first time this has been mentioned by yourself.
We are about half way through a refurbishment programme whereby bathrooms are being stripped back and completely re-tiled and fitted out and room furniture replaced.
Once again thankyou for raising these points with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Opal Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Cove Resort

Address: Pacific Hwy, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opal Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst 36 hectares of native bushland overlooking the magnificent pacific ocean and gardens is Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort. The perfect destination for family holidays, business trips or short breaks. Resort facilities include 9 hole golf course, heated swimming pool, day spa, 4 floodlit tennis courts, gym, sauna, Kids Club, games room, Concierge and discovery desk, 24hr reception & so much more. Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort, where you can do as much or little as you'€™d like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Opal Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opal Cove Hotel Coffs Harbour
Opal Cove Coffs Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opal Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.