We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opal Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Opal Cove Resort to your Saves list
Opal Cove Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Opal Boulevard, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was a last minute decision to take a trip for business . not knowing where to stay we took the advise of a local and gave Opal cove Resort a go , it was lovely , not hard to find . on the water just after Woolgoolga and about 10 min to Coffs Harbour Beautiful views good size room and balcony , air con ,fridge tv ect .
The bar is nice and the food in the bar is also reasonable, The restaurant has a laminated number of causes to choose from , so I ordered fro the bar menu. the pool was nice and well thought out all in all a nice stay.
Most of all the rates were very reasonable for that standard of accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 312 is on the second level and a good view of the sea and away from the pool if it were a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    176
    132
    62
    61
See reviews for
169
133
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ballarat
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at opal cove for 2 nights in June. I believe you get value for money at this resort and it would be even better value in the warmer months. We chose an oceanfront suite and the views of and sound of the ocean on your balcony was wonderful! We would have breakfast on our balcony looking out for whales passing by. The room was spacious and clean but the bathroom is looking a little tired,
No road to cross to get to the beach for a quiet morning stroll and a beach you basically have all to yourself!
Great facilities, large pool, gym, tennis courts, 9 hole golf course, mini golf and children's games room on offer. A lovely restaurant with ambience.
The only negative was the free wifi. It was frustrating, going on and off in our suite, but no issues when used anywhere else in the building. Improvement needed when advertised as free wifi.
Overall, we would not hesitate to come back to opal cove resort.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the little extra for a beachfront at this property and ask for the top floor to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in June while traveling on business. It is not a bad hotel and I am sure when it originally opened it was a fine place but I felt the place to be quite tired.
The room was quite spacious, I had an ocean view room with a large balcony. I didn't really make use of it as the weather was shocking. but i did notice there weren't a great view of the ocean and I didn't particularly want to stand on a chair for a decent look (OHS and all that).

The room itself was basic enough, nothing too flash. I had a bath that evening and when I pulled the plug the water came gushing up from the drain on the floor, the place was like a swimming pool so I had to frantically put towels down to stop the water flowing out onto the bedroom carpet.
Needless to say I opted for a shower the following morning.

I ate in the restaurant that evening. the food was quite nice. The entree was so so, calamari, was quite a small serve and pretty generic. I have to say the steak I had from main course was delicious. the nicest steak I ate in quite a while. if the entree had been better, I would be raving about it.

The following morning I had breakfast and it was a nightmare. There were a big group in, like a tour. There was literately nothing left on the buffet. I understand they were busy but they should of catered for the large group.

I left hungry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Didn't find anything wrong with this hotel. Great price for what it was - big rooms (we were on level 4) with two balconies overlooking the beach.
Great entertainment for the kids (we didn't have kids, but could see that they would be fine here). Nice bar with happy hour and live music on Saturday night. The restaurant - Horizons was beautiful. Very top notch food.
I can see this hotel would be great in the summer - a nice big pool and water slide for the kids. there is mini golf (although the course needs a bit of an upgrade - but still good). Heated spa!! Plus you have the private access to the beach.
We will definitely be coming back 100%.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a Ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Found this through Last Minuite was going to travel straight through but the weather was bad. The price was right for a stop over. However I was plesantly suprised when we arrived, as I had booked it just 1 hour before. The paper work was all ready the staff where very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and very clean.
The food in the restaurant was very good and service was also very good. Very pleasant all round. Would use again if I was in that part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is terrible. NO airconditioning was working yet still charged $250. The room had a stale smell, & there were ants everywhere. When I complained to the manger about the airconditioning she was a rude pig. Will not stay here ever again..

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on line, all feedback we receive is taken seriously and used to assist us in improving quality and service standards where ever required.
Your decision to publish your first response on Trip Advisor 6 months later, inevitably meant searching our Duty Manager daily log trying to reconcile the issues you say that occurred in January 2013. Our maintenance team would have responded to air-conditioning problems during the summer season as a matter of urgency. Our resort is in a tropical region, whereby insects are prolific, and our attempts of regular pest control methods may intermittently allow ants to re-appear. Once notified of any issues , we endeavor to deal with immediately subsequently making your stay more enjoyable. Our friendly, professional customer service - frequently noted by our guests on Trip Advisor or more objective review sites such as Wotif is a credit to our employees that we take seriously within our company. Your personal attack and terminology regarding our Manager is a subjective view that would not warrant constructive criticism. If you wish to discuss any further issues then contact the resort directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here overnight several times as its always such great value for money. Impressive foyer entrance, on the beach, quiet location however close to main centre shops and attractions. We stayed in a resort room which was a lot larger than expected with balcony. Food was great in the restaurant, reception staff were friendly from the word go, pleasant stay will be back once again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opal Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Cove Resort

Address: Opal Boulevard, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#7 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opal Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst 36 hectares of native bushland overlooking the magnificent pacific ocean and gardens is Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort. The perfect destination for family holidays, business trips or short breaks. Resort facilities include 9 hole golf course, heated swimming pool, day spa, 4 floodlit tennis courts, gym, sauna, Kids Club, games room, Concierge and discovery desk, 24hr reception & so much more. Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort, where you can do as much or little as you'€™d like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Opal Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opal Cove Hotel Coffs Harbour
Opal Cove Coffs Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opal Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.