We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opal Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Opal Cove Resort to your Saves list
Opal Cove Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pacific Hwy, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location, comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have stayed at Opal Cove for business trips for around 6yrs now and it feels like a 2nd home to me. The staff are friendly and helpful and prompt with their service. The rooms over time are starting to be updated which is needed, however they are not to bad. The restaurant (Horizons) is a nice place to dine if you are looking for some fine food with the staff always happy to take feedback to improve the experience some more. Overall if you are looking for somewhere to stay that is comfortable and convenient to the town centre then Opal Cove will suit your needs.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a 3rd or 4th floor room on the ocean side of the resort to get the best views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    176
    131
    62
    61
See reviews for
169
133
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed here twice in the past Month. Mostly for the convenience of a quick stop-over in Coffs Harbour on way up to Gold Coast and then back home again. It is set well back from the road, which offered some 'quiet'. The resort is in a lovely location with views and sounds of the ocean. It has potential. Given the age of the hotel (my Uncle actually manged this place when I was a child), it is not holding up too badly but is in desperate need of some TLC and a make-over. The rooms are spacious and quite clean but are definitely tired! They need to replace the beds and linens, paint, replace carpets and make-over the very 'antique' bathrooms. If they did this, it would be a great spot. Very quiet with no noise from the highway and very good prices! Unfortunately what let this hotel down the most was some of the staff. The first stay I had breakfast, but didn't think much of it so opted for none the second stay. On checking out the second time, a gent with an (american?) accent who did my check out rude and quite demeaning. I told him I left the key in the room to which he said 'are you sure, I'm going to get it checked you know'!!!. I assured him it was there and he replied with 'well, I'm going to write this down. If it's not there, I'll be calling you'. Seriously? Why would I want to take the key with me? Granted it was 6am and he was obviously tired (his presentation was awful, clothes like a sack of potatoes and all crumpled) but that's no way to speak to guests! Additionally, on this second stay, I had arrived late (8.50pm) and phoned the restaurant to see if I could get dinner only to be told no, we are closed, you'll have to go to town (It turned out all of Coffs Harbour seems to close early and I was stuck with 'noodle box' for dinner that night. Not very appetising and certainly not good standard for a four star hotel). Either way, I would probably stay again for an overnighter - only out of convenience because the prices are very reasonable and it's in a quiet spot. If I were holidaying here, I'd stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: I had a 'cheap room' on the bottom floor but it was fine for a quick 'overnighter' o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here 9-11 August 2012, large and comfortable room with ocean view but room and resort both felt a bit tired, shabby and soul less. Alright if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep for a night on a journey but not a 'resort' to visit for itself. Out of Coff's Harbour so restaurants etc are a drive away and the hotel's choices for dining are only average.

Room Tip: Make sure you face the ocean and not the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney/Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here on a Friday night. Arrived from the Airport and asked if it might be possible to get into our room an hour earlier than advertised time. After reciting the book-in times she finally checked, and,, Yes, room was ready, however when we checked the bar fridge it was almost empty and worried we might be charged for all the missing alcohol. Found the mini-bar lady in charge who snapped at us telling us that "you insisted on coming in here early and I hadn't had time to top it up". So rude. If you can not let staff upset you, the place itself is lovely, peaceful and a two minute walk across the lawn to the beach. Only minus here is that they no longer put toiletries in the bathroom and so a ten minute drive to shops to buy shampoo.

Room Tip: We found it worth paying a little more for oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Went to this venue for a two day conference. Coffee and tea were not available for morning tea at the conference. Breakfast buffet food was pretty poor. We had a lunch as part of the conference and it was a plate of sandwiches and a plate of cut up fruit. The vegetarian in our group just got a place of cut up vegetables. The entrance looks grand and then it was all down hill after that. A tired looking resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Booked a room on wotif for $99 a night plus $10 for a cot for my 19 month old.

Check in was a breeze. Got keys and headed to the 4th floor. Room was quite nice, roomy with a balcony facing the car park. The cot unfortunately was not there. We went down stairs and asked to have it put in the room and it was done straight away.

Room was quite a walk from the elevator, which was fine for us but if you have mobility issues you might want to ask for a room near the elevator. Pool was closed for Winter as was the golf course. The grounds are quite nice and it only a few minute walk to the beach. The bed was a little too soft for my liking.

My wife checked out as I collected the car from the car park. She was charged again for the use of the cot. I went in to question this double charging only to be told that the resort did not allow cots to be booked in advance on wotif. I assured them that I had infact paid the additional $10 a night and would like the money to be refunded. The older lady on the desk approached me and said they definitely did not allow cots to be booked and unless I could prove it otherwise there would be no refund. She was extremely condescending and rude. I called wotif, and they called the resort on my behalf and explained I had in fact paid for the use of the cot.

In the end I was refunded the double charge without an apology from the extremely rude older lady. This poor service has ruined my experience and I will look elsewhere next time I am in Coffs Harbour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were expecting a lot more, they have clearly spent a lot more money on their web site than on the hotel itself!
The room was large but very dated and tired looking. The bath has big chips in it and needs updating.
The swimming pool was closed, the golf course closed and the tennis courts should be closed as they were in a poor state of repair. The only good thing was that rackets and balls were provided free of charge and the front desk staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opal Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Cove Resort

Address: Pacific Hwy, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#6 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#7 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opal Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst 36 hectares of native bushland overlooking the magnificent pacific ocean and gardens is Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort. The perfect destination for family holidays, business trips or short breaks. Resort facilities include 9 hole golf course, heated swimming pool, day spa, 4 floodlit tennis courts, gym, sauna, Kids Club, games room, Concierge and discovery desk, 24hr reception & so much more. Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort, where you can do as much or little as you'€™d like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Opal Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opal Cove Hotel Coffs Harbour
Opal Cove Coffs Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opal Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.