We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For a Quick Stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn City Centre

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Elizabeth St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good For a Quick Stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We've stayed in Coffs Harbour a few times but always in the mega-resorts out of town. This time we were passing through and wanted a comfortable centrally located motel for an overnight stay. The Quality Inn met all our expectations; it was easy to locate, close to the highway but still nice and quiet for a good sleep. Shame the restaurant was closed (on a Friday night?) but the Gai Thai restaurant next door more than made up for that. Our first floor room was easy to access from the car (ramps not stairs), clean and comfortable, and an adequate size. For $169 (plus the dreaded credit card surcharge of $5) it was pretty good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICoffs, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your reveiw and I appreciate your comments. Our restaurant is open fom Sunday to Thursday, however on Friday and Saturday nights we are closed. There are, as you mentioned plenty of options close by and we can arrange deliveries and chargebacks.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
14
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

For 30 years I have been travelling up and down the Pacific Highway and quite often staying in Coffs. Over the past 10 years have seen a great decline in the quality for price of hotels at Coffs inclusive of accidents waitiing to happen. Was recommended the Quality Inn to stay and so we did. Reception was prompt, helpful, clear and concise. Understanding our requirement immediately with warmth. Room was tidy, clean, modern and had everything we needed, even a microwave. Separate bedroom with a TV and my son (196cm tall) slept in the single bed which was very comfortable and wants the brand. Dinner to the room was quick, hot, delicious, great price and correct the first time. Breakfast was a pure delight, great coffee, properly cooked eggs and bacon. Check out was a breeze and the price was very good.
I recommend this hotel to all my family and friends.
Teresa

Room Tip: Let reception know what you need as they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICoffs, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear TMM8

Thank you for your review , I appreciate the time you have taken to comment about your stay. I'm very pleased your son slept well and hope you can return again.

Kind regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a very average hotel in Coffs Harbour. I can't quite imagine why they were awarded 4 stars. Having stayed at a number of hotels around the world, this doesn't compare favourably. The hotel room had obviously had a minor revamp but everything appeared quite basic and lacked any quality.

The swimming pool was pitiful - more like a paddling pool as you enter the hotel car park.

Room Tip: I wasn't aware of an upgraded wing that others comment on but would be worth asking for a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICoffs, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, our hotel has been rated 4 stars by the AAA for the past 5 years. We are continually upgrading our rooms and perhaps the room you stayed is next in our renovation program starting October 2012.

Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very clean and modern premises. Kettle, toaster, irion and irioning board in room. Bed very comfortable, bathroom good size. Plenty of parking. We booked because they advertised that there was a restaurant on the premises. When we arrived we were informed that the restaurant would be closed for this weekend. Was disappointing but there was a Thai restaurant next door and a hotel not 5 minutes walk. Bar fridge in room was stocked if needed. Breakfast was fine. Grafton is only a 1 hour drive away. Would happily stay here again .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have made our restaurant opening hours more clearer on our website to adress the comment you made.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Quick business trip to Coffs Harbour this week and I needed somewhere within walking distance of several locations near the Coffs town centre. The Quality Inn filled the brief nicely. On arrival, check-in was a breeze and I was given a room in the newer wing. Nice and clean, very comfortable and double glazed which helped dull the highway noise during the night. Make no mistake, there is little hope of blocking out all of the noise from the Highway and man, there are a lot of trucks rolling through Coffs Harbour all night long to cause grief for the light sleepers. Room service was excellent with a good selection from the restaurant on the menu. Breakfast next morning in the restaurant again was excellent with above average service. Overall, a very friendly, well run establishment, ideal for my stay.

Room Tip: Unless you are someone who can block out highway noise at will, ask for a double glazed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICoffs, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your reveiw of your stay and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Traffic noise is a constant challenge for us and we are continuing to adress this issue. All our rooms are double glazed which has assisted in this area. If you are a light sleeper we can offer rooms in quieter areas. Please let us know next time you intend to stay

Kind regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We arrived at night without a booking and were given a clean, tidy and well decorated room at a fair price. Service at reception was excellent. We ordered room service just before the cut off time and they were incredibly prompt and friendly - and it tasted great. Reception staff (Micheal?) was extremely helpful when checking out the next morning and gave great advice on interesting places to go from there and where we might like to stay at out next destination - all spot on!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICoffs, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We place great emphasis on service at the Quality Inn and I'm pleased our staff responded to your expectations.

Kind regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel en route to Orange - we wanted somewhere quiet in order to get up early the next morning in order to get into Orange at a decent time. We were also looking for somewhere that offered a two-bedroom apartment and the Quality Inn at Coffs did so. Check-in was efficient and the apartment was lovely and very clean - recently renovated with a decent size kitchen and fridge as well as a nice modern bathroom. Bedrooms were of a good size and there was a pleasant lounge. Outside of the property also well looked after and there was a pool (which we didn't get time to use). Key issue was it is positioned right at the front of the hotel and next to the highway - broken sleep for my partner and hardly no sleep for myself, as we kept hearing trucks breaking down the hill until about 2 - 3 am. I note other reviews say it has a great location which is true in one sense - but if you want a good night sleep and choose to stay here, I'd strongly suggest asking for a room in the back part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back wing should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QICoffs, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
I appreciate the time you have taken to write a review for our hotel. The specific room you stayed in has just been fully renovated with double glazed windows, we will now be upgarding this which I trust will alleviate this issue. I am pleased you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn City Centre

Address: 22 Elizabeth St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Inn City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location ! Location !, 300m to city centre, shopping, clubs and restuarants. Hotel style, King spa and apartment accommodation. Fox sports, free movie channels, licensed restaurant and bar, room service and breakfast buffet daily.2009, 2010, and 2011 Chamber of Commerce award for "Best Accommodation Coffs Coast". AAA rated four star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.