We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Coffs Harbour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macauley's Restaurant

Macauley's Restaurant
99 Park Beach Road, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
02 6652 5970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 139 Restaurants in Coffs Harbour
Price range: $26 - $62
Cuisines: Pizza, Australian, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Macauleys is located within Coffs Harbour's beachside precinct Park Beach. Opening at the beginning of 2008, this family-­ owned and operated restaurant is taking Coffs Harbour to new heights with its contemporary menu and relaxed, but elegant, ambience.With its high ceilings, modern interior and spacious dining areas, Macauleys Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. The candle lighting creates an elegant dining experience, whilst the rustic timber fenced courtyard at the rear of the restaurant creates an intimate alfresco setting, perfect for that special night out.Macauleys can satisfy any appetite with mouth-­ watering contemporary food, fresh local produce and attentive service.The relaxed and elegant setting makes Macauleys the perfect venue for a romantic dinner, business dining, private function or wedding reception.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great find in Coffs Harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Excellent quality at reasonable prices. Very fresh seafood and interesting entrees. Loved the open plan kitchen - would definitely go again if back in Coffs.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    29
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ballina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went with 2 infants and the wait staff were very accommodating to our needs. On the outside the restaurant Doesnt look like much but has a nicely presented interior. Had a bread and dip for starter, nice sourdough but dips could be a bit more vibrant. For main we had a steak special which contained a beetroot relish and the signature seafood platter. Seafood platter was beautiful in all respects well presented and perfectly cooked fish, have had many seafood platters before and they are usually way to big to finish for one or even two people and rely on batter and fried food. The platter I had a Macauley's was all about smaller portions of well cooked fresh ingredients, no fried or battered food at all which was a nice change. Would highly recommend this little gem to anyone passing through Coffs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Read the reviews and thought it would be a good night out to celebrate a wedding anniversary.
We shared a serve of bread and dips (mayonaise and baba ganoush) and the signature seafood platter. The serves were small for the price charged. The kitchen forgot our side order of greens until reminded. Decided to try dessert to satisfy our hunger. The kitchen is on display, which is great until the kitchen staff started hosing out the kitchen whilst we were still eating. The food served was really well done, but let down by pricing, service and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee C, Owner at Macauley's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for feedback. At Macauleys, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. For this I apologise.
I have taken your observations on board in regards to the kitchen cleaning operations & am currently looking for a kitchen screen / divider to provide a buffer for our guests once the kitchen staff has started their cleaning process.
The seafood plate is a meal designed for one & at $55 consists of seafood that is locally sourced (nothing imported from overseas!!) with hand cut chips & home made dips. It is a generous serve & therefore it is quite common for people to share it a as a main meal however I would always recommend having either entree or dessert to make it a substantial meal.
I do hope you give Macauleys a second chance & would like to invite you back to the restaurant to enjoy a complimentary bottle of wine. Please let me know next time you make a booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Both my partner and I are fussy about our seafood but McCauley's did not disappoint. Their signature seafood plate was excellent. Well cooked (salmon still almost raw in the middle, which is the way it's meant to be), calamari tender, all other elements complementing each other including sauces/dips. Generous serves, we'll worth the money. Will visit again. Congrats to the chefs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW< Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a treat! And surprisingly not expensive for the quality of food that you get. So tasty and plentiful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macauley's Restaurant also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Macauley's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macauley's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.