We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast in the region” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shearwater Restaurant

Shearwater Restaurant
The promenade | Harbour Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 6651 6053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 147 Restaurants in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A unique location, could be anywhere in Australia...fantastic menus, attention to detail, just awesome
Sawtell, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in the region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Shearwater chefs and staff have consistently provided me and my friends and colleagues excellent food and service over the past 5 years. The Eggs Benedict breakfast with salmon and their potato rosti is my favorite and the coffee is always excellent. The view over the inlet is peaceful and full of wildlife. Even the water dragon that hangs out nearby seems to be relaxed. During my last visit two herons were caring for a fluffy bundle of a chick in the nearby branches. Early mornings are the best for a quiet table near the balcony railing but you can see the view from most tables. It is a great place for holiday or business lunches as well. I have also noticed that they consistently hire lovely, talented staff who have a friendly attitude and always get my special orders right. I always take out of town family and business visitors there.
Well done guys. Thanks for the attention to detail, tasty food and service that just let's me relax and enjoy the experience.

Cyclist Jim from Sawtell

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    5
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This restaurant has it all, great location, fantastic food, excellent service. Arrived by taxi from our motel, shown a table overlooking the inlet, with the birds wandering around the shallows. We chose oysters kilpatrick and oyster with salmon pear and lime. Both were really good, the the pork belly - excellent, we even had deserts, italan meringue with basil couli and my husband had free standing creme brûlée. Both were very good. The only downside is that you have to go outside and walk about 25 metres to the shopping centre toilet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolgoolga, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely evening ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I had dinner here tonight with my partner and my parents. The service was excellent, the waiter was attentive and polite. The food was delicious and presented wonderfully. And the view over the creek is always divine. We will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great feed, better value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've been in Coffs Harbour for about a month now, and Shearwater is easily the most friendly, delicious, beautiful restaurant/cafe in the area. Great location right on the water, with every staff member as friendly as the last. The menus is diverse and delicious, would recommend to anyone looking for a great meal for a great deal. Not to mention the amazing coffee's and cappuccino. Definitely worth the stop. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
“good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

top restaurant staff very friendly & helpful, good quality food, great atmosphere on the river. great coffee, good wine,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shearwater Restaurant also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Shearwater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shearwater Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.