We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Motel

Save Saved
You added Caribbean Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caribbean Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   353 Harbour Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
It's whale watching time!
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Coffs Harbour
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fine for short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here during our short stay in Coffs Harbour. Motel has nice, comfortable rooms, nothing special but clean and a balcony. The pool is very very small. 3*2) near to restaurants. We did not choose breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you found our rooms clean and comfortable. You're right, our pool is small, but it is good to cool off in, alternatively the patrolled beach or harbour are just down the road. Wishing you happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    66
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
61
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Staff were pleasant, and motel was nicely placed in an area where everything was well within walking distance. A nice leisurely walk will take you to the shore/jetty in no time. Facilities and room were well kept. Definitely value for money :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Our staff try hard to ensure our guests' stays are pleasant, thank you for acknowledging the good job they are doing :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

It has to be said that the location is good. It's near really good restaurants and a short walk to the beach. However the motel itself is not fantastic. The walls are very tin and I was woken by the person in the room next door peeing in the bathroom. Then again by the person the other side when their alarm went off. Therefore ensure you are a deep sleep or in no need of sleep!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed our good location near restaurants and the beach but am sorry to hear your sleep was disturbed by adjacent room noise. If you would advise us of the room you stayed in we could assess the issue and see what could be done. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great for an overnight stay but wish we were staying longer!!! This motel is in the most perfect location just minutes to the jetty local restaurants even an IGA foodstore literally 100 meters away!!We had a first floor family apartment room 3 to be exact slept all of us comfortably very reasonably priced and extremely clean!! Owners were very friendly during the whole booking process and were very helpful.. I believe they are new too.. I was extremely surprised with the amount of towels supplied usually some places are very stingy when it comes to extra towels pillows etc but there was enough to accommodate us all and make us all feel fresh and comfortable and at home.. Linen smelt fresh and clean and beds were reasonably comfortable the whole place had a modern feel to it more like 4 star too me :) ...Thanks Caribbean Motel we will defiantly be back!!!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, we're glad you were pleased and we look forward to seeing you next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curlewis, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I recently stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment with my mother. The apartment was very clean, plenty of room with a balcony.The road (harbour drive) is busy however there was little noise inside the apartment. It is on a bit of a hill and parking is really really difficult, it was easier to park on the street. The pool is small, a little deceiving in the photos.
Great range of eateries across the road and a short walk to an IGA and beach.
The stairs and the hill were difficult for my elderly mother.

Room Tip: There are two storeys with no lift, so suggest asking for first floor if stairs are a problem (howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments on the cleanliness and quiet of your room. For next time, regarding the stairs and the elderly, we do have a room with level external access and cooking facilities which can sleep up to 4 people, which is not online, it can be booked by calling direct. Also there are two ground floor double rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was the last stop in our road trip to Sydney from Cairns and again were pleasantly surprised with our choice. The Motel its self was well presented with good attentive Staff. It is well situated for dining with several restaurants close by with others not more than 10 minutes walk away down by the Harbour. If I was to raise any negative it would be that the room we stayed in suffered from occasional plumbing noises when the adjoining room used either there Kitchen or Bathroom .I would add I have no knowledge other rooms are effected in this manor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
What a long journey you had! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This property is high on a hill overlooking the city and a short walk from the foreshore.

The local restaurant precinct is very close, but not too close, and has a wide variety of pretty good food. We were impressed with the choice and the quality of the eateries, especially the Indian.

The motel is not the newest, but has been very well maintained and by use of some clever design tricks seems quite contemporary. For example, the walls painted very modern colours even though some of the furniture is older. Overall the effect is very good and importantly the beds and linen/towels are great and the property spotless.

The business has apparently just been sold, and as long as the high standards are maintained we will definitely come back here.

One thing to note - some of the rooms are up two flights of stairs. This didn't trouble us, and I am sure that management would have helped if asked, but this may be something for some travellers to keep in mind.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you found our property well positioned and maintained, and as you say it's not the "newest' but it is spotless! The business hasn't been sold but we do have new managers in place, Rene & David, who are doing a great job and will continue to maintain our high standards. Regards the stairs you are right, we are always happy to help guests with their luggage, or guests may book one of the 3 rooms with ground floor access. Hope we see you again soon. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Address: 353 Harbour Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA rated 3.5 star Caribbean Motel is ideally located in the Jetty area, with numerous restaurants across the road and the Jetty beach a few minutes walk away. Buffet or room service breakfast is available. The motel is a couple of minutes walk from the train station or a 5 minute cab ride from the airport. Reception is open 7am until 9pm, late check in can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.