We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Motel

Save Saved
You added Caribbean Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caribbean Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   353 Harbour Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
It's whale watching time!
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Coffs Harbour
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Great motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night while travelling from Brisbane to Sydney, great motel, very clean, nice room and good location. Reception very helpful and friendly. Found the motel on Tripadvisor the night before and rang up to book. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    66
    26
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
61
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here overnight on way back from Brisbane to Sydney. Comfortable bed, our "apartment" had separate bedroom for parents, kids slept in lounge room. The apartment also had small kitchen with two hot plates, which would be enough to cook a meal. Close to restaurants, and pub directly opposite. Rooms were clean and well kept, would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This small and intimate motel is very friendly and doesn't have the corporate feel . The room was excellent and very clean the motel is close to all amenities
Breakfast was simple but pleasant sitting next to the pool

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Free wifi and the staff were pleasant and willing to assist. Check in was easy as was check out. The rooms were neat, tidy, serviceable with a huge shower. The only down side was the set out of the bathroom as the general layout was not suitable for the purpose intended. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was good and plentiful. Car parking was challenging as spaces were small with little turning room. This motel was a long way out of the centre of Coffs Harbour but was only a reasonably short walk from the harbour. Would stay here again but would find somewhere else to park.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Aside from the immaculately kept rooms, and all the amenities one could desire within easy reach, it is the consistently professional warm hospitality and service provided by Debbie and Byron Townsend and their support staff which means that it is a pleasure and relief to arrive, and the service never disappoints. It is clear that they strive to make every guest's stay as pleasant as possible, realising that people who are away from home will need comfort and a balance between a friendly available presence and discretion and privacy, and strive to provide it. This has meant that on regular business stops to Coffs Harbour, a stay here is a must, and I highly recommend any others coming to the area to stay at the Caribbean.

Room Tip: The spa rooms are amazing and absolutey worth it to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Good location but traffic noise noticeable even from high room with doors closed.
Self contained but a bit expensive for mid winter given that place could do with a makeover.
Quite disappointed given the T Advisor rating.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for giving us some feedback on your stay.
Being located away from the highway in the Jetty area we don't normally have much traffic noise, it's a shame it was noticable the night you were staying.
We are in the process of giving the motel a makeover. Just this week we had the painters in painting the internal stairwells and we also had the outside of the building painted in the last two months.In the 18 months since we took over the motel we have made many other improvements including replacing beds and bedding, chairs, TVs and numerous other items. We have a refurbishment goal we are working towards however as you may appreciate it can't all be done at once.
For future stays we do have a variety of room types and tariffs. Booking early when possible will ensure the widest choice.
Thanks again for your comments and hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Driving from Brisbane to Sydney after a sailing regatta and needing an overnight stopover for a family of 5, we took Tripadvisor's recommendation for the Caribbean. Called ahead while on the road and the owner Byron was very helpful and accommodating, Arrived at 10pm and delighted to find the rooms spotlessly clean and thoughtfully laid out. Comfortable beds provided a well needed sleep and we were back on the road again feeling refreshed. Highly reccomnded and will stay here again next regatta.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Address: 353 Harbour Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA rated 3.5 star Caribbean Motel is ideally located in the Jetty area, with numerous restaurants across the road and the Jetty beach a few minutes walk away. Buffet or room service breakfast is available. The motel is a couple of minutes walk from the train station or a 5 minute cab ride from the airport. Reception is open 7am until 9pm, late check in can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.