We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Caribbean Motel to your Saves list
Caribbean Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   353 Harbour Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Driving from Brisbane to Sydney after a sailing regatta and needing an overnight stopover for a family of 5, we took Tripadvisor's recommendation for the Caribbean. Called ahead while on the road and the owner Byron was very helpful and accommodating, Arrived at 10pm and delighted to find the rooms spotlessly clean and thoughtfully laid out. Comfortable beds provided a well needed sleep and we were back on the road again feeling refreshed. Highly reccomnded and will stay here again next regatta.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    85
    34
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
73
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the Caribbean Motel for an overnight stopover between Sydney and Brisbane. We chose the Caribbean because of its favorable Trip Advisor rating and we were not disappointed. Byron and Debbie, the on-site managers, are very friendly and obviously take pride in their work. We appreciated the free WiFi as we are traveling from the USA and don't have mobile phone service, so we depend on the Internet to keep in touch with home. Our room had a large whirpool bathtub and there was enough hot water to fill it! The room was clean and the bed comfortable. In the morning, we had a choice of a continental buffet or a cooked-to-order breakfast. We only stayed for one night before continuing our journey, but we would have enjoyed spending more time here and exploring Coffs Harbour.

Room Tip: There is no lift. Ask for a ground floor room if you don't want to manage the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Close to the jetty strip of restaurants if staying for one night. The rooms are O.K neat and tidy, a little pricey. We stayed in a room which was up the stairs above the reception and dining area which was very noisy early in the morning due to staff talking loudly, so don't expect to get a quiet sleep in. Best to book the back part of the motel. The street noise was O.K The female receptionist we dealt with was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the motel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay.
The reason there was early morning noise during your stay was due to a one off hot water system problem. Our manager arose at 5.30am to discover there was no hot water! Luck for us our very helpful tradesman was able to come in and get the problem sorted so our guests would have hot showers when they got up. Unfortunately that meant some hallway noise very early (but better than a cold shower!).
I'm sorry you were disturbed by the noise and hope we see you again at the Caribbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Booked here based on tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. Run by a friendly couple and good value for money. Close to restaurants and the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a large apartment on the top floor, with views to the jetty and the ocean. It was very spacious, comfortable and well appointed, and we had two large balconies as well. The owners were very helpful, not only to us but to our visitors as well - and gave us good advice in relation to the best restaurants which were within walking distance. We also had breakfast served in our room free of any extra charge, and the pancakes were yummy! All in all, we had a very comfortable and good value stay, and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I requested a quiet room when booking. Room 18 was on the 1st floor away from the main road, as requested, so the street noise was minimal. There were stairs (no lift). The room was old fashioned, with space for one suitcase.

The location across from the plethora of jetty restaurants and a number of walking tracks was ideal.

Free wifi was an unexpected bonus, and the signal was strong.

There were two beds: a queen and a single. The bed linen was OK, but the bed was not particularly comfortable. The pillows were a bit thick for my liking.

A table and chairs in the room were replicated on the balcony. The chairs in the room were very uncomfortable.

The air conditioner could be controlled to your desired temperature with a remote.

The shower recess was large, but the towels need replacing - they were small and thin.

We chose to give the motel breakfast a miss. Instead, we had a great breakfast at Urban Espresso Cafe across the road.

The cost was $125 for room only.

This motel was good for a stopover, but I wouldn’t recommend staying for more than one or two nights.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The location is great, just off the motorway and few minutes from the marina. The room was clean, spacious and the large spa bathtub was a bonus! Nice little balcony facing the harbour. The service was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Address: 353 Harbour Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA rated 3.5 star Caribbean Motel is ideally located in the Jetty area, with numerous restaurants across the road and the Jetty beach a few minutes walk away. Buffet or room service breakfast is available. The motel is a couple of minutes walk from the train station or a 5 minute cab ride from the airport. Reception is open 7am until 9pm, late check in can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.