We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boambee Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boambee Bay Resort to your Saves list
Boambee Bay Resort
8 Barber Close | Toormina, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2452, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

this resort is very tired and in desperate need of an upgrade. staff were friendly. the pool was lovely as was the restaurant. we stayed in a ground level apartment and could hear everything that was going on above us from the length the shower was running to toilet flushing and what seemed like baby elephants above us to moving furniture around - not pleasant at all

Room Tip: 1st floor then there is no one above you making a lot of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Boambee Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi Maureen,
So Sorry to hear that you really did not enjoy your stay. We welcome your feedback and we have passed your comments onto the appropriate depart to view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    32
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

First time to this resort and experienced fast, friendly check in by courteous staff. Well maintained, very clean and compacted resort. Had a 2 bedroom downstairs unit and although the resort seemed full of people we felt there was plenty of space and privacy. Loved our screened in balcony which gave us the 'outside' inside and free from insects.
Lots of free amenities & things to do which gave you the opportunity to 'do' or just relax by the fantastic pool. Great location away from the hustle & bustle but easy walk to the beach & 5 minutes to the local Centro plaza for supplies. Free car space per unit which was u der cover. Surprised by the amount of supplied kitchen utensils & appliances.
Although the furnishings are a little dated it was reasonably comfortable and we basically only slept there anyway as we went on a few day trips walking through Dorrigo national parks.great family resort & loved that no skate boards or scooters could be used on the premises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Boambee Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Work2travel62,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at Boambee Bay Resort.
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear our reception staff where of great help to you during your stay. We are happy that you enjoy the location and we look forward to having you come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We return to Boambee Bay Resort on our Bi Annual trip to Coffs.
As reliable as ever. Clean comfortable accomodation set in a very relaxed atmosphere. Although fully occupied the place always feels roomy and private.
Plenty to do with games room, pool, spa, mini golf, tennis, mini tennis and basketball. Also has gym ( of sorts) and giant chess set.
Seviced by a cafe and restaurant.
Each in it is self contained unit with decent size kitchen and laundary, celing fans. Also great BBQs scattered throught the resort, which sits on the edge if Boambee Bay Reseve ( 1 minutes walk) and a fantastic picnic area.
Also 6 minute walk to Boambee Beach for long walks .
Not 5 star but your getting great value for money, privacey and plenty to do should you chose to step out.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family have been heading North from Sydney to Boambee Bay Resort for 25 yrs. We have the option to exchange to another resort however we are so attached to Boambee that we don't. My wife bought a week before we were married and our two children (now 23/21) have always looked forward to spending time canoeing, fishing, surfing, swimming/playing in the pool, squash, bowls and the yearly family tournament on the half court. The boys have now got their own thing going and we are back to just the two of us heading north to enjoy our week relaxing. The constant updating of the units means they are always is excellent condition for our stay. The child friendly environment makes for piece of mind for parents (not our concern now though). I have met countless amount of people over the years who have come to Boambee by either referral or to try something new. Without exception they have all said Boambee is the best timeshare resort they have ever stayed at. Just as an aside we have also watch Sawtel Village (1k south) grow from a sleepy shopping area to now represent everything you would want in the era of coffee and alfresco dining. Boambee Bay Resort and Sawtel are a winning combination...add the fantastic choice of swimming either estuary/ocean and its unbeatable. We are there again next week to celebrate an early Xmas.

Room Tip: Its handy staying near the half court (north side) as you have quicker access to the full size court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Dont be fooled by the pictures, we were dissapointed with our stay here.

The apartment was dark and dated.


The crockery and appliances are all budget quality and I think the bedspread could do with a change.

Time for a bit of an update guys....... move into the 2000 and out of the 1970's

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDWF, General Manager at Boambee Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Boambee Bay is a timeshare resort that has never charged a special levy on it's owners to perform a total re-vamp but prides itself on re-furbishing the units as part of the normal levy. This means we can only re-furbish c.10 units a year. Saying that, the majority of the units have been re-furbished and modernised.
Please refer to the review - "Surprisingly good" - a different take on a downstairs unit and confirmation - you can't please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Two mature couples stayed overnight in seperate accomodation. My wife & I were in the units and the other couple in the apartment section. While the exterior gives the impression of the facility being old & a bit 'naff' there is no mistaking the value for money. The units were seriously clean, comfortable and tidy. The one we had was a little dark due to it being on the low side and surrounded by native growth. The apartment was of a good size and well presented. For families this would be a great place to stay as its facilities and location are just what you want for a holiday; quiet location and plenty for the children to do.

Room Tip: Go for the apartment if you dont have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This resort is very nice if you are looking for a relaxing break. It's located in Sawtell which is a 5 minutes drive south of Coffs Harbour. The resort itself is built overlooking Boambee Creek which is a great place to enjoy the sea without being exposed to the rough waves or wind.
We had a two bedroom unit overlooking the creek itself so I think we had the best view. The ground floor balcony is enclosed by a mesh to keep the bugs out and was great place to watch the brids and particularly the parrots that live in the Bomabee nature reserve. I agree with a previous reviewer that the furnishings are a little tired but the unit is very well equipped, especially the kitchen.
It was a gret base for us when we wanted to venture into Coffs Harbour to visit the botanic gradens or to go further afield to visit a national park.
The resort has a great pool. I hate square boring pools but this one is interesting with a waterfall fetaure and bridge. Yes it can be a bit noisy and splashy with all the kids at the pool but you could usually get a sun lounger and find a sunny spot. I really enjoyed the regular visits from wild lizards who like to sun themselves around the pool and sometimes have a dip as well!
There is an onsite bar, restaurant and snack venue which provides decent enough food and drink. You can even get takeaway (at a discount). The only downside is that the restaurant and bar close at 8.30pm so you have to eat relatively early and there isn't much point going to the bar as it closes just as you start to enjoy yourself!
I would recommend that you request an upstairs unit as there is little sound proofing between the floors. We were staying beneath a family with young children so weren't able to sleep past 7am each morning due to the noise generated by the family as they got up each morning.

Room Tip: I would recommend that you request an upstairs unit as there is little sound proofing between the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boambee Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boambee Bay Resort

Address: 8 Barber Close | Toormina, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2452, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where the Great Dividing Range meets the sea" On the Northern Coast of New South Wales, you'll find the relaxing holiday town of Coffs Harbour. The mountains, dotted with banana plantations for which the town is famous, provide a stunning backdrop to the region's unspoiled white beaches. The range of activities for holiday makers at Boambee Bay Resort ensures that everyone, from couples to families, will be well catered for. Boambee Bay Resort is an affordable family resort located along the banks of the serene Boambee Waters and just a short stroll to the long white sand of Boambee Beach. Accommodation is set amidst luscious tropical gardens. The 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartments accommodate six people and the luxurious 1 bedroom apartments will accommodate four people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Boambee Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boambee Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.