We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangrove Jacks cafe and canoe hire

Mangrove Jacks cafe and canoe hire
321 Harbour Drive, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
6652 5517
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 131 restaurants in Coffs Harbour
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our lunch here at Mangove Jacks. he had the Barramundi and said it was the best fish n chips he has ever had, I had a pasta and also have to say it was one of the best. The prices were reasonable and meal sizes were fine. The service was very friendly, no issues at all. Would love to go back again next time we are in Coffs and hopefully try the kayaking too, the setting is beautiful along the water.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    47
    18
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Mushroom bruchetta was to die for. But I felt the main. Steak was a little disappointing. I asked for med rare was over cooked and chared. It sat on 3 large boiled ( too many) two pieces of boccohini and smothered in Jus with a few beans. Could be alot nicer. Web says on a Rosti.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have lost count of how many times I have been here, lunch and dinner it doesn't matter it is always great.Anyone with food allergies this is the place for you. They will cook most anything special for any allergy . Reasonable prices and the view is priceless, all food scraps go in the creek to feed the millions of fish that swim under the restaurant as it is over the water.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Cannot go wrong with the place and the parking is easy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great views, great service, reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ordered two items from their specials menu, which came out in good time and were delicious and well presented. The staff had great people skills, but were a bit slow giving us menus, taking our order and checking on us. The views were spectacular. Prices were not cheap, but reasonable. And the bathroom? Modern and very clean.

I would eat here again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great views and good breakfast too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Came here for breakfast the morning after we had been to the Shearwater next door for dinner, as the setting by the river, with fish down below the deck waiting to be fed, was suburb. Breakfast was very good, with toast crusts saved to feed the fish. All in all a very pleasant experience watch the canoers going by

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangrove Jacks cafe and canoe hire also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Mangrove Jacks cafe and canoe hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangrove Jacks cafe and canoe hire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.