We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, average service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Centre Cinema Building Shop 7, Bunda Street, Canberra 2601, Australia
(02) 6248 8338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #400 of 836 Restaurants in Canberra
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We arrived without a booking but were seated immediately (the last spare table we found out later). We were then left alone for about 10 minutes, no water no menu, no nothing. We had to ask for a menu, still no water. After selecting our dinner, we had to wait for what seemed like ages to place our order. Still no water. We requested water when our wine arrived (lovely Canberra district shiraz / viognier). Our bruschetta was delivered to the wrong table. Mains were, however the highlight of our evening. Interesting flavours from both the veal and beef. The restaurant filled fairly quickly so I recommend booking a table on weekends. Reasonable prices, great flavours but the service not up to the level expected.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    36
    28
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The noise outside from partying crowds was enormous but as soon as we entered La Scala we entered a lovely quiet zone where we could easily chat over subdued background music. Brilliant.
The food was tasty and came quickly.
Thumbs up from us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
“Average, even though the owner tries hard and has been there a long time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

You can see from the reviews that some guests have had an enjoyable experience and yet others have had a terrible meal.
Ours was average in that the food was unforgettable, we had to wait a long time, and there were many irate customers sitting around us, some of which made their frustration loud enough for all to hear.
There were two problems that night; firstly the restaurant did not have many bookings so they decided to only have one chef and secondly they had electrical problems in the kitchen. Reasonably valid reasons except on the night we were there there were many walk-in's and the staff couldn't cope.
The owner is a lovely guy and tries hard but our evening was not a particularly enjoyable one.
Parking is easy (mostly free) and the restaurant is well-located right in the middle of the main Canberra centre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and BYO.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have been to eat here a few times and we have always had pleasant experience. We recently found out it is byo corkage of $3.50. However it meant we could drink our special wine which was really great. The food was exceptionally presented, atmosphere great and the staff were lovely.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here with our newborn who started getting a bit cranky just before we ordered. We didn't want to disturb the other guests and apologised to the waiter as we were planning on leaving. The manager came over and told us not to worry - she really put us at ease. We stayed and had a lovely meal which had a real homely European feel to it. The atmosphere was nice and our newborn soon fell asleep again. We really appreciated being able to go out for a good meal together and feeling very welcome with our new baby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scala also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.