We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Realm

Save Saved
You added Hotel Realm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Realm
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Canberra
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Carlos and the team at Hotel Realm are extremely friendly & attentive, the rooms are modern clean and full of creature comforts. Great onsite amenities.....................................................

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    167
    76
    32
    6
See reviews for
58
166
27
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fortunate to have been all over the globe and stayed in many 5 star hotels, the Realm is up there for sure. The recent expansion of new eateries and coffee shops makes it mini destination in it's own right. We've had 'staycations' there to get a break from the routine. Service is always good, flexible and responsive with any requests. If you get a front facing balcony view you'll get a good look at the iconic Parliament House. Breakfast service was a bit of 'survival of the fittest' to get fed and coffee is a mission in itself, staff do well but needs some attention. Note you can park in the Wilson car park for free with a room booking, if they ask for $5 on the intercom just tell them what room no. etc and should be good to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room if you want a bit of a view, no big different though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at The Realm dozens of times now but have never got around to writing a review. This is a First Class hotel with all that you would expect in a business hotel. Relatively fast free internet is always appreciated! The Realm precinct has become a destination in its own right with a very good bar and restaurants meaning you don't have to venture far on a cold Canberra night. The only thing that stops it receiving 5 stars are the showers. Poor water pressure coming from high shower heads which detracts from the overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our second stay and the Realm and although the minimalist style is very chic and the gadgetry high tech, there are some basics that are missing from it being a 5 star experience. I will start with the constructive feedback:
-My initial observation was that the lounge area in front of the check in desk was very dusty. I'm not really a neat freak, but if you are going to sell your hotel as 5 star, the glass top tables have to be dust free or at least look as they have been cleaned that day.
-The room itself was pretty nice with a Apple TV, iPod station and Nespresso machine, but again, it looks quite dull. A splash of colour (just one) may lift the room a little. This is a matter of taste though.
-Finally, the breakfast in the Konoba room was really disappointing and not what I'd expect from a 5 star hotel. It is a buffet style and everything is self service. Eggs are pre-cooked (poached and scrambled) along with a range of other items. The quality of the pre-cooked food was good but in a 5 star hotel, I would expect an egg station or a pancake station at least. There were just 2 types of juices (apple & orange) only, which came from a bottle as far as I could tell (we saw it being re-filled).
- I am quite surprised that tea and coffee was also self-service. If there were other options available, no one informed us of them.
All in all, the breakfast is not worth the money. You are better off eating in a cafe somewhere else.
(We have just been to the Crown Plaza in the Hunter Valley and the breakfast there was miles better and cheaper than at the Realm).
Now for the good stuff:
-In keeping with the hotel, the gym was high tech and offered a good range of machines.
-The staff are all extremely helpful and courteous.
-The room itself was pretty nice, quite large with a Apple TV, iPod station and Nespresso machine.
-Easy parking at the hotel.

Overall, the Realm is a good hotel. Rated 5 star, but I didn't get a 5 star experience.

(As I write, I have just called the hotel in search of a retainer which was left in the bathroom. The gentleman I spoke to in Guest Services is going to have a look in the lost property and have the room checked and then get back in touch. This response is quite different to the one my son received a short while earlier, when he was told (not sure by who) to call again tomorrow as housekeeping do not go to the room till then (really??). OK, we will see what happens.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a special night away and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Realm. We stayed in a Bedroom suite and as a previous reviewer had written - I could possibly live there! Great, welcoming staff - thank you Catalina! and beautiful room. The iconic Canberran view from our balcony of DFAT, Parliament House and THAT flagpole - superb. We also enjoyed a fabulous dinner at the restaurant - great food and yummy wine. A fantastic get-away.

Room Tip: Thoroughly recommend the bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great week end at the Realm booked on Wotif as a Mystery Hotel. Friendly staff at check in who gave us an upgrade to a Bedroom suite. I could possibly live there. We enjoyed the excellent facilities from IPod station to coffee machine, jacuzzi bathtub. It's a fun hotel to discover, modern and stylish. We had local wine tasting in the lobby that week end. Great selection of restaurants within the complex, nice staff. I did not make it to the pool but I am saving it for next time ! I will come back...

Room Tip: Ask for a bathtub ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't think anyone familiar with what a 5 star hotel offers would consider Hotel Realm in the same league. The staff are the only thing that are truly at a 5 star standard - they are extremely polite and helpful, and the staff to guest ratio is high. The rooms are quite large and the bed in my room was comfortable, but the decor is a far cry from 5 star. While I expect there has been an attempt at minimalist interior design, the result is sparse and disjointed. Apple TV and Nespresso in the room are a nice touches. Probably 5-star standard for Australia, but not world standard.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Realm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Realm

Address: 18 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#5 Business Hotel in Canberra
#9 Family Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Realm 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the footsteps of Parliament House in Canberra, the multi-award winning 5 Star Hotel Realm is part of a truly mixed-use precinct next to the Parliamentary Triangle. Hotel Realm offers 163 hotel and suite style accommodation rooms each with Malin+Goetz amenities, Apple(R) Mac-Mini in-room system and Nespresso coffee machines. Complimented by an in house day spa, state of the art health club, fine dining, casual dining, lounge bars, wholefoods cafe and onsite pharmacy. Combining contemporary elegance with avant-garde design, Hotel Realm is Canberra's only AAA rated 5 Star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Realm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Realm Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Realm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.