We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Suite, sweet winter weekend deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Realm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Realm to your Saves list
Hotel Realm
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Suite, sweet winter weekend deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding which was also at the Realm. The building certainly feels like 5 star accommodation. If you are after a romantic get away where the idea is to stay in the suite, have room service delivered, a long luxury bath and generally swoon around then this is the place to do it. I didn't give it 5 stars as the Hotel doesn't seem to be anywhere particularly interesting unless you fancy a walk, which is not ideal when it is 6 degrees c and raining. But again, if you don't want to leave the hotel, this place is perfect. A funky bar downstairs, very popular on a Friday night. A delicious Chinese restaurant across the way.

The breakfast buffet (included in our package) was absolutely divine. Perfectly poached eggs and a stunning array of sides to choose from - then back to lolling about in the room. Excellent weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Hang the expense, get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    200
    106
    39
    7
See reviews for
77
208
31
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hotel Realm have got it right. From checkin to checkout, the staff were accommodating, friendly and efficient. Parking is plenty and the rooms are clean and modern (I stayed in a suite). For business or pleasure, I would have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Realm and will certainly be visiting again.

Would have rated five, except for the fact that the room's lighting is a little harsh and not sufficient in some areas. Also, wall switches appear redundant and poorly identified (at least two switches appeared to do nothing when turned on!). Minor issue mind you and very good overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Was really pleased with this hotel as we did a lastminute.com.au mystery deal and this was it. Big 5 star hotel, in a good central location (not that you'd know if you arrive after dark - hard to find anything in Canberra if you're not from there), with a bit more soul due to the staff who were delightful. Really attentive but low key too. We didn't use any of the facilities except the room which was great - spacious, well decorated, nice big shower, good toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. Free parking on the weekend too. We paid $150 through Lastminute, and that felt about right.

Room Tip: If you're an early bird ask for a room with a balcony on the sunny side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Like most of you, we used to stay at the "other place".
Well kids no longer.
Great amenity, service and access.
Have I mentioned the Porter?
Robert Griffiths alone is a reason to stay at the Realm.
And that before the front desk takes over making sure all happens as you wish.
Coming back for sure...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figtree, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Wonderful everything as far as accomm. food. service, porters valet parking etc. Can highly recommend it. Just one important thing for me though that did not work. My most important reason for going to this Hotel was the heated indoor swimming pool for both my daughter and I and most of all my 2 yrs old and 8 yr old grandchildren. The ad said Indoor Heated Pool in all my extensive hotel stays when it states this I have found and expect the pool to be warm the pool was one degree above cold no heating at all in the room so very unpleasant. The pool closed at 5 which for me is unheard of as most people have things to do in the day and return for a swim and dinner in my opinion. The ad also said if I remember correctly spa/hot tub/Jacuzzi. Only a spa which was the opp to the pool a little too hot a had strong chlorine fumes that burnt the eyes I tried to put the children there too hot but after a little time in the cold pool they adjusted to the heat in the spa after a bit as they were frozen.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with all things required for a business stay. Staff are really helpful - with everything and a booking mix up was rectified with a minimum of fuss. Good location. Quiet. Comfortable. Modern facilities. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I booked this hotel as a mystery Wotif as I needed somewhere to overnight on the way home to Sydney. First impressions- the foyer seemed somewhat cavernous and very hard edged which is not very cosy on a cold Canberra evening. It was like staying in an office building and this feeling was compounded by the location which seems to be sort of Canberra CBD and thus it would be handy place to stay if you had business nearby. The room was comfortable and spacious though it did feel a little cell like with the minimalist decor which consisted of a bed, desk, tv and one designer chair (probably a cheap copy). The bathroom was spacious and well designed. The bed was ok not the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Breakfast was in a smallish room which felt like the lunch room of an office and the staff were not very efficient at clearing tables. The bufffet was pretty average and quite expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Realm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Realm

Address: 18 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#9 Business Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#11 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Realm 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the footsteps of Parliament House in Canberra, the multi-award winning 5 Star Hotel Realm is part of a truly mixed-use precinct next to the Parliamentary Triangle. Hotel Realm offers 163 hotel and suite style accommodation rooms each with Malin+Goetz amenities, Apple(R) Mac-Mini in-room system and Nespresso coffee machines. Complimented by an in house day spa, state of the art health club, fine dining, casual dining, lounge bars, wholefoods cafe and onsite pharmacy. Combining contemporary elegance with avant-garde design, Hotel Realm is Canberra's only AAA rated 5 Star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Realm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Realm Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Realm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.