We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dam good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Realm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Realm to your Saves list
Hotel Realm
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Dam good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Quite expensive so was reluctant,is a little way out from anywhere but Manuka is a five minute walk.Check in efficient without being that friendly.Room was first class with large Lounge area,balcony,king sized bed,bath and shower plus kitchen - a really great room with Apple IPTV system&docking stations.
I ventured down to the Gym and Pool - $15 to use Gym and free for the 25 metre lap pool.Please even if the Gym is operated privatey don't charge Guests a fee it is just rude.The Gym has great Cardio equipment and the pool is good.There is a nice bar/restaurant area so I decidedto have the thai Chicken curry and a few glasses of Pinot in bar area - quite good although I did complain about the wine being above 20 degrees - For Canberra this is a great Hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    184
    83
    33
    6
See reviews for
64
177
28
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

But I'm undecided... Booked the toulouse lautrec package on the hotel website which included one night accommodation, breakfast and exhibition tickets for two. At $276 I thought it was pretty reasonable.

I'd read a few of the reviews so kind of knew what to expect. The lobby and reception area is spacious and you could appreciate the modern design elements. Check in was fast and easy but there was nothing special about the service.

The room on the third floor overlooking parliament was a decent size with big king bed. Personally, I think they've mistaken minimalist modern with beige and boring. No statement pieces like in the lobby makes the grey walls and beige furniture blend in on itself. The white armchair was so stained and dirty I wouldn't sit on it. The cabinet housing the tv/fridge had also seen better days with the doors just hanging on. I did enjoy the bed and pillows and the bathroom with big rain head shower.

There's no concierge desk which I thought was pretty odd given their self-rated 5 star billing. But hey, I can make my own dinner reservations. Tried to book a table at the Ostani restaurant however the gentleman on the phone informed me they were fully booked (after asking how many the reservation was for). Knowing this was complete rubbish I turned up at the restaurant at 7pm and got a table for two in the half empty restaurant no problems. That aside, the tapas menu was excellent and the service pretty good.

The included buffet breakfast was fairly good, no complaints.

The gym is an extra $15 to use and had I been staying for more than one night that would have really bothered me.

I can't decide if I'd stay again. Between the dull and slightly shabby room and the bizarre restaurant experience it doesn't leave the best first impression.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We decided a trip to Canberra was needed if only to see the Toulouse Lautrec exhibition, so with bookings in hand we checked out Canberra hotels. They are all expensive and from the Trip Advisor comments some are tricky.

The Realm looked good - and when you remember to add in the parking and the buffet breakfast it looked even better. With discounts via Wotif it seemed to be too good to be true.

But sure enough the room was as good as the photos, the shower was great (if depressingly architectural cinder block grey and no lighting to speak of) the bed was really comfortable, the pillows sensational. The buffet was equally good and the staff...any problems (we couldn't work the computer controlled tv nor the ghastly nespresso machine) were attended to quickly and with a genuine smile. Check-out...a breeze.

With Wotif discount this place is really good value at $225.

Add to this the great food spots around the corner at Manuka Place and its really a great spot. Forget Toulouse Lautrec, there's better stuff to see.

Room Tip: Wake up to a view of Parliament House spire
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect 5 star. This is a good 3 star hotel. Hotel already showing lots of wear and tear. Rooms, furniture, restaurants all average. If you are choosing between the Hyatt and this because you think this is also five star, go the Hyatt. This really is just not five star.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a high quality hotel with very comfortable, quiet rooms close to DFAT. It's over-priced though. I ordered room service and it took over an hour to come, and came with a $7.50 additional charge... Not impressive, and not what I expect when I'm paying $300 per night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arrived to a foyer bereft of people or life of any kind. The modern grey colour scheme with its funky chairs were looking a little worse for wear and I felt more like I'd entered a hospital. Through two lots of double doors with 'wet paint' signs on them (but no wet paint), we were pleased to find an outdoor area bar and restaurant and a little more atmosphere. We found the gym and very small pool in the basement but were told sharply, by the female attendant, that the pool closes in 5 minutes at 6pm and if you want to use the gym it is a private business and there would be a $15 surcharge - which we felt was misleading and unwelcoming. The king bed room was boxlike, dull grey and extremely hot as the air was not turned on before we arrived. We complained and the staff were very obliging and upgraded us to a suite - the air was on already in this case. This suite had good proportions and a balcony, two good televisions and a great little kitchenette. The furniture and bathroom are modern but worn. Would not consider this hotel 5 star. The breakfast was very good. The area of Barton behind Parliament House is quiet and uninspiring and this hotel reflects this characterless nature.

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning to be turned on before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Realm for three nights in late December. It was quiet in Canberra and we booked our trip last minute.
What a great surprise when we arrived at Realm and found a modern, comfortable, clean and relaxing hotel that met all of our needs beautifully.
We loved the little touches- the nespresso machine, the L'Occitane bathroom toiletries, the washer and dryer and the kitchenette full of essentials that one would need from a home away from home.
The breakfast was delicious an we enjoyed the buffet and a la carte options.
Wilson parking must have gone on holidays as we didn't pay parking at all during our stay.
We spent most of our time sight seeing and eating out at local Kingston restaurants.
If we are ever in Canberra again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Realm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Realm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Realm

Address: 18 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Canberra
#6 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#8 Family Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Realm 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the footsteps of Parliament House in Canberra, the multi-award winning 5 Star Hotel Realm is part of a truly mixed-use precinct next to the Parliamentary Triangle. Hotel Realm offers 163 hotel and suite style accommodation rooms each with Malin+Goetz amenities, Apple(R) Mac-Mini in-room system and Nespresso coffee machines. Complimented by an in house day spa, state of the art health club, fine dining, casual dining, lounge bars, wholefoods cafe and onsite pharmacy. Combining contemporary elegance with avant-garde design, Hotel Realm is Canberra's only AAA rated 5 Star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Realm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Realm Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Realm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.