We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - friendly staff; good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Realm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Realm to your Saves list
Hotel Realm
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - friendly staff; good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We arrived well before check in time due to flight constraints and were hoping to leave our luggage there and head off sight seeing. To our delight, they offered to check us in straight away at 9.30 am which we were very pleased about. The room was well appointed, bright, with an exceptionally comfortable bed. Everything is new, clean and the highlight was the fact that you can open the window and get some fresh air. We found the hotel very quiet (sensational on New Years Eve). Breakfast was included in our tariff and was fine. We ate at Ostani on two occasions with sensational service and great food and reasonably priced - which is most unusual for a 5 star hotel. Being New Year things were very quiet and the service was second to none by the bar and wait staff. Can highly this hotel if you're staying in Canberra. The only negative is that it is just a little too far from the city but close to Manuka and Parliament House. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. We had a very enjoyable stay in Canberra thanks in part to this hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    200
    106
    39
    7
See reviews for
77
208
31
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This place is overpriced and feels like a cold concrete jungle. It has no ambience and only good for corporate travel. Don't stay here for a holiday! Plus the cleanliness of the place is not up to standard - the lift and main areas had not been dusted or vacuumed and hardly any staff are around to assist with luggage etc.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this well appointed hotel. The one bedroom suites are self contained with both kitchen and laundry facilities. They are clean, comfortable and stylish. The very good buffet breakfast was included in our tariff. The beds are comfortable and lovely L'Occitane products are provided in the bathrooms. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We just spent 2 nights at the Hotel Realm. We booked a suite and it was very spacious with a nice balcony. We even got a kitchen with the suite equipped with everything you'd need to self cater. The kingsize bed was very comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants as 2 of them were closed for the holidays. We did have breakfast included in our room rate (buffet) and it was quite good albeit very busy with lots of young children. The hotel was situated within walking distance of Manuka where we found good shops and restaurants. All in all - a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Our family recently stayed at the Hotel Realm, Canberra
After one bad experience the next could not have been better. We had a two bedroom suite and boy did it deliver.

The amenities were great, everything you could need, tree TV,s in one suites, great spa bath, two huge showers. (the only downfall was the bathroom floors were not clean) The suite fitted 6 of us so easily and plenty of room to move, we even had a fully equipped kitchen.
I would imagine this place is perfect for business eve though we went for leisure.

We also had a huge balcony wıth a fantastıc vıew, takıng ın three major ACT landmarks

The reception staff were always helpful, Matthew in particular at check-in was profession yet friendly and more than willing to help.

Breakfast was plentiful, anything you could have wanted, they even specially cooked for one of our gluten-free needs party.

Overall I have no hesitation recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Room 214, double suite i great easily fits 6 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I am hugely disappointed with the Hotel Realm in Canberra.

Don't bother trying to get service - it isn't available, and when you question why you're told nothing can be done. Room service wait over an hour.

Next time I will go back to the tried tested and true at the Hyatt. At least they understand that the person who has booked, and more importantly paid, actually is a guest and should be treated with courtesy and an effort can at least be made.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRealm_GM, General Manager at Hotel Realm, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Good morning,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all feedback.

I am incredibly sorry for the short fallings of the service you received at the Hotel Realm, this is inexcusable and I will bring this to our staffs attention.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here a night on a business trip, the place has clearly embraced the concept of modern design (I still find it weird to not step over a tub to shower), but it's a very nice hotel. The bathroom was the best part of the room. Two king singles...not so much. Double beds please, I haven't slept in a single since I was 14! Breakfast was hit or miss. Wide selection, not so much taste. Come here if you're young and like to party, the bar area was packed with young women with little clothing on!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Realm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Realm

Address: 18 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#9 Business Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#11 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Realm 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the footsteps of Parliament House in Canberra, the multi-award winning 5 Star Hotel Realm is part of a truly mixed-use precinct next to the Parliamentary Triangle. Hotel Realm offers 163 hotel and suite style accommodation rooms each with Malin+Goetz amenities, Apple(R) Mac-Mini in-room system and Nespresso coffee machines. Complimented by an in house day spa, state of the art health club, fine dining, casual dining, lounge bars, wholefoods cafe and onsite pharmacy. Combining contemporary elegance with avant-garde design, Hotel Realm is Canberra's only AAA rated 5 Star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Realm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Realm Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Realm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.