We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place for Steak in Canberra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charcoal Grill Restaurant

Charcoal Grill Restaurant
61 London Circuit, Canberra 2601, Australia
61 2 6248 8015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 778 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Canberra
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Best Place for Steak in Canberra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I don't go here often enough. This is definitely the place for a long lunch as the steaks are always first class and cooked to perfection. They have an excellent wine list but the steaks are just superb. I would go more often but I avoid Canberra City in the evenings.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very disappointing meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went for a family members birthday a 7pm sitting on Saturday night.

I've eaten here a few times before and for the most part its been enjoyable. Unfortunately the standards here have dropped and it isn't worth the premium prices charged.

There were only two waiters working who were run off their feet. Oysters were off the menu. One family member had the schnitzel which looked as though it'd just come fresh from the microwave. My steak was good but for $45 you'd expect it to be. The vegetables that are served with were poor as well.

All in all it wasn't what we'd hoped for, not a terrible meal but definitely not worth the money charged and paid.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Still setting THE Standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have visited over the years and never been disappointed.
Good steaks accompanied by good wined and decent service, a recipe for longevity, and Charcoal Grill has it all.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never fails...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant for nearly (dare I admit it...) 24 years. I have never had a bad meal there. I love the "old fashioned" feel of the restaurant and the menu. It's not the cheapest, but worth it for the 2-3 times a year I would eat there.

I'm boring, I don't often change from the sizzling garlic prawns as an entree, and the steak Diane as my main. But I do also occasionally enjoy the deep fried Camembert with redcurrant jelly, and chicken with avocado. Each meal comes with a baked potato and a side of vegetables, and it's nice that the waitress will then personally top up the potato with butter, sour cream and chives if you want them (dinner only, they serve chips and vegetables at lunch). The wine list is good also.

If you would like good "non trendy" food, and good service then I can really recommend the Charcoal restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A great classic steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Has the best steak of my life here. Got the last table in the house on a cold Canberra night and boy was it a great dinner. Steaks fabulous, excellent wine and I don't consider it expensive for what we got. My friend enjoyed it so much he arranged a weekend away just so he could go back!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoal Grill Restaurant also viewed

 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Charcoal Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charcoal Grill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.