We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably-priced Asian food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Cafe

Asian Cafe
Melbourne Building, 32 West Row, Canberra 2601, Australia
61 2 6262 6233
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 779 Restaurants in Canberra
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canberra
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Reasonably-priced Asian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I've eaten here during lunch time on numerous occasions in larger groups. The management certainly has a winning recipie to quickly deliver reasonably-priced Asian food to lunch time crowds. The food is OK but certainly nothing to rave about. Worth considering for a quick lunch time meal.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A Good Lunch Regular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The Asian Café offers a really good selection of Asian fare, which is best enjoyed dining in. However, if you need to whip back to the office, the great value lunch box is a tasty winner.

I think it’s one of the better Asian restaurants in the city, and has quite a nice atmosphere in the old Melbourne Building. The staff are just lovely, although prone to a bit of low talking, which can make it hard to hear them when it’s busy. And it’s nearly always busy.

The food is delicious, and I’m yet to have a bad meal there. There’s no doubt that you’ll get a much better feed if you dine in, with the dishes coming fresh to the table from the kitchen. I often get a large lunch box for $8.50 and rush back to my desk. While it’s incredibly flavoursome, with the pepper chicken being one of my favourites, the steamer trays really aren’t hot enough. So probably best to zap it in the microwave before you scoff it down.

Definitely one to try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, fast service tremendous value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

One of the better cheaper Chinese restaurants in a city swamped for restaurant choices. Their spicy chicken and laksa are 2 of the best I've tasted. Not to be missed for a good quick feed in the nation's capital

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Keep coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I have had a number of trips to Canberra and this is one restaurant I keep coming back to. It has a nice atmosphere to it and I love the food.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

I've eaten in many Canberra restaurants and cafes over the years and the Asian Cafe may well become a new favourite. I went there tonight with two good friends who knew the menu well. The food was vey fresh and interesting - with Thai, Malaysian and even Indian influences. The atmosphere was relaxing and the staff friendly. I will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Cafe also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Asian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.