We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Tilley's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tilley's Devine Cafe Gallery

Tilley's Devine Cafe Gallery
Corner of Wattle & Brigalow Street, Canberra 2602, Australia
(02) 6247 7753
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #251 of 809 Restaurants in Canberra
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Tilley's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I prefer Tilley's outside bruch times when it can be a bit hectic. Good service by the ladies always with a smile. Both outside and indoor areas are great for a catch up and a coffee or just to laze reading the paper.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    46
    44
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Awful overpriced food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I recently meet up with an old friend at this place after avoiding it as I felt the standard had slipped. The atmosphere is as I remembered - relaxed and the staff generally friendly. They have updated the outside area which was a nice surprise. What wasn't such a nice surprise was the food. My friends pasta special was a measly portion of gluggy tangle. My chicken salad consisted of some dry overcooked chicken, some old mangy outer leaves of a cos lettuce - you know the ones you normally throw away and a few carrot sticks - that's it - for $18+ not what I would consider good value nor good food. The food used to be a little hit and miss - which is what prompted me to avoid - now it's just miss. Really disappointing cause the place used to be great. Maybe they should revamp the kitchen staff.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Like a retro club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It is a strange experience walking in here and finding yourself inside an art deco club from NY. The food is great and comes in big serves. The outdoor seating is very pleasant. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tilly Devine whould be shocked”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Tilley's was once a great place to go, except Tuesday nights which if you were male was a no no, now it is an over priced yuppie hangout with a few lesbians thrown in and without the redeeming features.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“From dawn to dusk (and even later on)...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We love going to Tilley's for breakfast on the week-end. But we also quite often go there for a working lunch, a nice coffee in the afternoon or a late (for Canberra) dinner. Nice menu with at least 5 or 6 specials each day, friendly staff, comfy booths, nice outdoor area and good music. Yeah, we just love going there!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilley's Devine Cafe Gallery also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Tilley's Devine Cafe Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilley's Devine Cafe Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.