We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indonesian Flavour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rasa Sayang Restaurant

Rasa Sayang Restaurant
43 Woolley Street, Canberra 2602, Australia
(02) 6249 7284
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 778 restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canberra
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Indonesian Flavour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Their food reminds me of Indonesia when I lived there, the original family owners still run the restaurant as far as I know. I especially like the spicier dishes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    9
    14
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great authentic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great prices and terrific food. One of our dishes was king prawns in satay sauce which came wrapped in foil - a different approach but it was very tasty with plenty of prawns. For great asian food Dickson is really Canberra's own Chinatown, and the Rasa Sayang with its mix of Chinese and Malay dishes is a standout.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Authentic Malaysian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great selection on their menu, and the food tastes the same as similar dishes tried in Malaysia. The decor isn't modern but it somehow gives the restaurant a cosy, homely feel. Service isn't that great but the good food compensates for that. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Malaysian in Dickson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have been going to the Rasa Sayang on and off since our children were small. The food is always wonderful, a good quantity, and reliably delicious. the only problem is that the service is sometimes slow, especially when the restaurant is full, as it often is.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
“Has become grotty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very tired and grotty decor plus staff who can't speak reasonable English means I won't return. Plenty of other choices in the area of Dickson.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasa Sayang Restaurant also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Rasa Sayang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rasa Sayang Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.