We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Food, Busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portia's Place

Portia's Place
11 Kennedy St, Kingston, Canberra 2604, Australia
(02) 6239 7970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 809 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Fine Food, Busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Enjoyed a banquet at Portia's Place for a lunchtime Xmas party during the week. As always, fine food and excellent service was delivered. The restaurant was busy, and the staff managed to provide efficient and friendly service. The Shantung Lamb was the pick of the dishes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    30
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went there on a Saturday night and there was not an empty table. Despite being very busy, the service was flawless - friendly and efficient. We had the signature lamb ribs and they were to die for. Our other meals were spot on, too. I would most certainly eat there again and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone who likes GOOD Asian food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix en Provence, France
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Used to be better....now overpriced and average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Prices are crazy for what you get! One entree, four mains, byo wine and a bill of $210. Unfortunately won't be back. The upside service was great and very attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

My little family enjoyed our visit to Portia's Place. The staff were faultless in their attentions. We enjoyed trying to spot Canberra celebrities (oxymoron?) while consuming our delicious meals. Good stuff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Family favourite, consistent high quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Portia's is definitely high up there on our list of favourite restaurants in Canberra. We have eaten there numerous times over the past few years and love the tasty food and attentive service. Child friendly, especially if you get there a bit earlier. Recommend the duck pancakes, steamed dumplings (my ten year-old daughter LOVES these, as do I), and garlic king prawns. Hot pots are great too. Portia may have moved on but the staff and quality remain pretty much the same, in other words friendly, attentive (the staff) and really delicious food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portia's Place also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Portia's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portia's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.