We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat before you go to La Capanna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Capanna

La Capanna
32 Giles Street, Canberra 2603, Australia
(02) 6239 6712
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #254 of 778 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Don't eat before you go to La Capanna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner with friends at La Capanna on a Friday night in early April 2013. This restaurant has been around for a long time and I've eaten here a lot over the years. It is fairly small with an al fresco dining option out the front - not necessarily to be recommended during Canberra winters.

On this particular evening, the place was busy, with a large party adjacent to ours, and lots of twos and fours. Despite this, the service was fast and friendly. We had the mixed pasta'n'pizza banquet at $36.50 a head. For this we got garlic pizza bread, mixed bruschetta, three mixed pizzas, two large pasta dishes, coffees and corkage. The number of dishes was limited only by how much we could eat and, regrettably, we ran out of steam well before the chef did. The Amatriciana pasta was good, as was the Capricciosa pizza.

The atmosphere is casual and laid back, the food is good standard Australo-Italian fare, and the service is great. There is a very good bottle shop down the road and the restaurant allows BYO bottled wine. It is pretty reasonable value for money by Canberra standards. Make sure you go there hungry.

Recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    19
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“By far not Italian style, but reasonably good pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

As our hunt for a good pizzeria in the Canberra region continues, we tried La Capanna.
The atmosphere is quite charming and the staff very nice. The patrons were of all ages and a lot were young couples with children which is lovely to see.

BUT

We ordered two pizzas and about 40 minutes later we were still waiting; the lady at the oven had put our pizzas in takeaway boxes on top of the oven and left them there with other takeaway orders;when she realized the mistake ten more minutes had passed and our warm-ish pizzas ended up on a plate and finally got served.
Once arrived, the pizza itself was definitely not proper Italian style, but it was quite nice and we both finished it all. If it was delivered t us fresh out of the oven it probably would have been quite good.

Altoghether, a charming little place...we might go back and try something else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food and service, Try the Suppli!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Kingston has some great restaurants ranging from the pricey to the reasonable. La Cappana sits somewhere in the middle offering some reasonably priced entrees with a good range of tasty mains which hit the $22-$35 mark. Located next to another fine Italian restaurant, La Capanna offered us very efficient and friendly service and some good quality food. We had an entree of Suppli (rice, mince and cheese snacks) which were a meal within themselves and absolutely delicious. For mains, we ordered a large vegetarian pizza and garden salad to share and were impressed with the portions and quality of the food offered. Very tasty, fresh and with a nice balance of flavours and ingredients. Our only complaint was that drinks tended to be more ice than drink and were on the more expensive side. There's some artefacts randomly decorating the place to add creedance to its Italian heritage but ambience as a whole was lacking. Otherwise, we thought this restaurant was nice without offering a real 'wow' factor that you'll find with some of the classier establishments but if you want a decent meal that won't cost the earth and caters for families as well as couples, this is a decent place to try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good food at a reasonable price. I go here often when during business stays in Canberra. Always satisfied. Staff friendly and flexible. Very good Pizza's

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere. Food needs to be balanced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice atmosphere however pizza is missing balance of flavors. Does not scrimp on ingredients but chef needs to be more understanding of depth and balance of ingredients. . When asked how the food was they did not seem to be really interested in feedback. Anyway. This is our view.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capanna also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to La Capanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Capanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.