We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian club food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Italo Australian Club

Italo Australian Club
78 Franklin St, Canberra 2603, Australia
(02) 6295 1588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #480 of 778 restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Italian club food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I ordered a spaghetti marinara, which was OK (just) but it took ages to arrive. There were hardly any diners in the place and others who arrived after me who ordered pizzas or house pastas got their meals before me. If you need some TLC the waitress calls everyone 'sweetie'

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

38% Recommend
    2
    3
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawker, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Amazing pasta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

A real surprise hiding in the burbs of Canberra! We dined on a Wednesday night and it was very quiet but our meals arrived promptly. The best pasta I have had in a long time and only $13!!!

The dining area could do with an update and paper table cloths aren't particularly classy but who cares when the food us this good!

Would recommend and will return!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We went to eat at the bistro on a Friday night. We were a group of 13 and the bisttro was a quarter full yet they seemed very flustered to have a group turn up. I was left waiting for my food for 45minutes

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Entertainment whilst you eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We ate in the Italian restaurant which was very good. There was live music and dancing adjacent to where we were eating which was most enjoyable.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The food was decent, with a good range. Pasta, pizza, chicken, veal and steak were all available. I had a pizza which wasn't anything special, my two colleagues had meat dishes which they liked. Being from the west coast having a restaurant in a club with pokies was a bit weird, and probably not the best atmosphere. Dined on a Tuesday night and the restaurant was very very quiet.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italo Australian Club also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Italo Australian Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italo Australian Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.