We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tantalise your taste buds with the exotic flavours of Ethiopia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ethiopia Down Under

Ethiopia Down Under
1/70 Hodgson Crescent | Pearce, Canberra 2902, Australia
(02)6286 1659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 809 Restaurants in Canberra
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tantalise your taste buds with the exotic flavours of Ethiopia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Delicious, aromatic food at an amazing price! This was my first time at an Ethiopian restaurant so my friend and I shared one of the platters to maximise variety. It was delicious! I would highly recommend one of the share platters, and if there are 4 of you then you even have more choice.Great for vegans or those with a gluten allergy too. The staff and Jon (not sure of the spelling) the owner, are very friendly and ready to explain all the dishes. It is BYO so luckily there is a bottle shop close by, and this makes for a cheaper meal. The restaurant is small so you need to book. We sat outside as it was a lovely night, not the weather that I expected in Canberra. The ice-cream selection is legendary and delicious. Finish off with Ethiopian coffee for a truly authentic dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    18
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Canberra hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was introduced to Ethiopia down under by a friend years ago. Although sceptical at first I thoroughly enjoyed my Ethiopian experience the first time, the second and everyone there after.

I have taken many friends and family there who also love the homely atmosphere, great service and authentic Ethiopian food (which is delicious by the way).

As a side note, the menu is very accommodating of vegan/vegetarian dietary requirements.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ethiopian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Never had this type of food before but very flavoursome. Service very good, homemade ice cream have to try.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a simply atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A combination of absolutely delicious food and warm, friendly service makes this unpretentious restaurant a must visit. Every dish is full of flavour and the owners enjoy telling the background of the names of the dishes. The ice-cream is a perfect end to the meal. Very reasonable pricing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Absolute gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This has quickly become our local favourite! Food is great, whether its takeaway or eat in. The ice cream is also an unexpected bonus! But the real standout is the service - second to none in Canberra!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ethiopia Down Under also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Ethiopia Down Under? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ethiopia Down Under, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.