We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in the suburbs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ethiopia Down Under

Ethiopia Down Under
1/70 Hodgson Crescent, Canberra 2902, Australia
(02)6286 1659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 778 restaurants in Canberra
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food in the suburbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a very pleasant meal at Ethiopia Down Under with my wife and another couple. It was a quiet Sunday evening but there were a few other tables in, so the word is out there about this place. Rather than slavishly opting for the menu, we picked our way through the menu, the owner-waiter guiding us through our selection. The result was a very satisfying meal of different curry-style dishes which we mopped up with plenty of injera, the slightly sour soft bread served as an accompaniment to the meal. A great meal topped off with friendly service and no byo charge. Ticks all the boxes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    38
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A surprising gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great cheap and cheerful restaurant - a wide range of african dishes - something for everyone. Recommend the banquet for those who are unsure. Staff are friendly and helpful. A great place of families and groups of friends. BYO but liquor sold in the supermarket next door.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quaint and simple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Very good service and great food in a simple establishment that provides a wonderful experience. My wife and I had the Mosub(something ike that) plate for two, it had a mix of unusual but very tasy dishes eaten with a pancake like bread that was all bubbly.
Thoroughly enjoyed the night, the place was also ver quite being mid week so if you are looking for somewhere different next date night you should give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simple, unpretentious and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The decor is very simple and there is nothing fancy about the place, which I think is a nice change as it feels very homely. The staff are very friendly and the food is always delicious. We always order the mosab, which is a very hands on dish. You get a large tray of food which is usually shared between people, but you can order our own meal if you like. The mosab comes with flat bread, which is kind of like a very light and fluffy lemon favored pancake. You tear up the bread and use it to pick up food off the tray.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very satisfying food with a friendly, welcoming vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was a very worthwhile experience. The owners were lovely and the food exquisite. The decor was simple, but I think this added to the homely feel of the restaurant. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and everyone!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ethiopia Down Under also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Ethiopia Down Under? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ethiopia Down Under, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.